540,523 active members*
1,748 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    23

    Servo amplifier error 8.

    Hello all friends
    I got alarm 8. On my fanuc servo amplifier
    And this happened in the morning
    Then i switch machine power off and on again its same 8.
    After 30 min
    Off and on again
    Its ok 8. Is gone and machine running well
    So can any one help please
    My machine is tornado 110
    .....
    Note: iam allready replace the igpt of servo amplifier with anew one
    But still same problem

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    890

    Re: Servo amplifier error 8.

    ...depending on the age of your machine ...one loose wire terminal or wire nut will cause high current draws to motors. I would check there first.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    23
    I checked the motor and motor wire
    All is ok and if i change the servo drive with other one new
    The problem is gone
    So please help

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    3
    Have to know your servo model number to be sure. But alarm 8. (with the dot) is an IPM Alarm (intelligent power module)ie, the igbt-bridge. This can have some different reasons caus the IPM only has one fault output, but several internal protection functions (se the IPM datasheet for more info). The most common problem with this alarm is, that the driver stage electrolytic capacitors are bad, causing UVLO (when servo is cold or when motor is energised). It can also be over temperature in the IPM. In that case check youre cooling. (Se IPM datasheet for more reasons).
    In youre case the servo works after some warm up, wich points to the caps being bad.
    Hopes this solves your problem.
    Last edited by TechSwede; 01-21-2020 at 08:17 PM.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    23
    Thank youfor help
    Iam allready upload one picture for my servo here
    And as you told me
    I wll change the big capastore on the servo board
    And i wiil check if the alarm is gone
    And if not
    So i will change the igpt also with new one
    And i will tell you the latest action
    Thank you so much
    I will do my best. Waite my reply

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    3
    Hi again.
    There's no need to change the big ones(!). If they were bad you would have other alarms.
    The ones i'm talking about is the small(est) ones near the optocouplers and the IGBT.
    I think they are small surface mount metal cans (grey) @ 33µF. Cant remember the exact voltage.
    If you take a picture of the right spot, I can mark the for you, if you are unsertain what "driver stage" means.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    23
    Hi Mr. TechSwede
    Iam upload 2 pictures for the servo board
    And for the IGBT after remove it
    Please mark for me the components you want
    Me to change it
    Notes:
    Do you mean the 5 capastores 33mf/25v
    iam allready checked them by multimeter and all is good
    Do you think the IGBT have problem
    I dont know. Please advise
    Thanks a lot
    Waiting your help

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    23
    Hello Mr. TechSwede
    Iam waiting you
    Please help

  9. #9

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    23

    Re: Servo amplifier error 8.

    Quote Originally Posted by Yasser2000 View Post
    Hello Mr. TechSwede
    Iam waiting you
    Please help
    Are you still looking solution for Fanuc alarm? if yes let me know where you are located? I'll give you few option to get fix this issue. PM me for fast response.
    thanks

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    23
    Yes iam still looking
    I can't pm you here because it is off for my
    I don't know why
    But if you can help. Tell me here or
    Send me Emil at
    ytyt1000@gmail.com

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    3
    Hi.
    Yes the 33µF.
    Not to sound rude, but you can not tell if they are god with a multimeter. Only if they are totally bad. You need an LRC-meter that can measure at least 1kHz to tell their status.
    Change them to some good quality brand. Low impedance/ESR ones (or you might still get the alarm).
    Hope this solves youre problem. It has for me, several times.
    / Per

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    23
    Can i use this one?
    Or must be same older
    Thanks

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    96

    Re: Servo amplifier error 8.

    sometimes al-8. also comes from control card try to replace it.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    8

    Re: Servo amplifier error 8.

    Quote Originally Posted by Yasser2000 View Post
    Can i use this one?
    Or must be same older
    Thanks
    Could you figure out the source of yuor problem, because we have the same error here.

    Alarm 8 and after a few restarts in the morning, the machine is running for the rest of the day.

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by hmu64 View Post
    Could you figure out the source of yuor problem, because we have the same error here.

    Alarm 8 and after a few restarts in the morning, the machine is running for the rest of the day.
    Nothing to do
    I change the drive

Similar Threads

  1. servo amplifier recommendations for a 3kw kawasaki servo
    By boss4 in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-18-2019, 07:08 AM
  2. Amplifier error on X Y and Z at startup!
    By thewillowone in forum Fadal
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-16-2013, 11:14 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-18-2011, 05:26 AM
  4. servo amplifier
    By frankg521 in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 07-20-2007, 01:29 PM
  5. Servo drive / Servo Amplifier
    By Ken_Shea in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-10-2007, 11:12 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •