587,213 active members*
3,851 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Setting limits on a demo version

Setting limits on a demo version

Hello all, I am a student and I have been working on restoring a minitech mini mill 2. I have upgraded the controller board to the hobby cnc 3 axis board and have gotten the X,Y, and Z rails to move, but now I am having a problem setting the home and limits in my version of Mach 3. I am using the Demo version. The tutorial videos from Artsoft help, but the instructions they give are all for full versions of Mach 3.

what information I am looking for:
    -how to set the home configuration

-how to set the limits

-and just because: what type of lubrication should be used? a light weight oil or lithium grease? (I have aerosol lithium white grease)

EDIT: the mini mill 2 doesn't come with limit switches or does it have them installed.....

thanks in advance.

can anyone at least point me where to start?

After doing a little research I was able to find out that the Controller board that I am using from Hobby CNC has a limit switch feature. I am going to try using that to fix the limiting problem so then I can finally start to cut parts. I will still be searching as to how to set limits through the probram just so I will have that knowledge on hand. If anyone has any advice as to how to achieve this please let me know. But for now my course of action will be to purchase some limit switches and install them.

Hey UCF...