547,444 active members*
1,544 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Mach Software (ArtSoft software) > Setting up Z zero and fixed tool change electrically
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1453

    Setting up Z zero and fixed tool change electrically

    Mach 3, Smoothstepper, C25S BOB, Vectric 11
    Setting up for 2010 screen set

    Back home and continue setting up the inputs.
    I’m having some concerns about how I’m wiring the Material Auto Zero and the Fixed Plate for the Tool Change auto zero.

    My machine has continuity between the router bit and all the machine extrusions as well as the ball screw shafts. So the wiring layout shown below would not work. What do I need to do the work around this problem?

    Thanks
    Hager

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12802

    Re: Setting up Z zero and fixed tool change electrically

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr.Chips View Post
    Mach 3, Smoothstepper, C25S BOB, Vectric 11
    Setting up for 2010 screen set

    Back home and continue setting up the inputs.
    I’m having some concerns about how I’m wiring the Material Auto Zero and the Fixed Plate for the Tool Change auto zero.

    My machine has continuity between the router bit and all the machine extrusions as well as the ball screw shafts. So the wiring layout shown below would not work. What do I need to do the work around this problem?

    Thanks
    Hager
    0-5v is a little wimpy for something like this 12v or 24v would be a better choice

    Have you checked with a meter the spindle body to see if you have the 0-5v it has to go through the Bearings, that is why a passive probing is best

    Something like this on eBay 254564463329
    Mactec54

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12802

    Re: Setting up Z zero and fixed tool change electrically

    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    0-5v is a little wimpy for something like this 12v or 24v would be a better choice

    Have you checked with a meter the spindle body to see if you have the 0-5v it has to go through the Bearings, that is why a passive probing is best

    Something like this on eBay 254564463329
    Forget what I said in the above post, except for the passive probe

    The 0-5v should make the circuit though the tool and touch plate, so you most likely only have some settings configuration that need to be changed
    Mactec54

  4. #4
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1453

    Re: Setting up Z zero and fixed tool change electrically

    Thanks, what’s the difference between the one you showed (gold color) and this one I already have?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12802

    Re: Setting up Z zero and fixed tool change electrically

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr.Chips View Post
    Thanks, what’s the difference between the one you showed (gold color) and this one I already have?
    You don't have to clip anything to the tool in the spindle, they have switch of some kind inside, (they are all different some better than others this was just for an example ) the center piston moves up / down to make the contact with the switch

    This can be mounted on the table and ready for every tool change, it can be used with every tool change automatically
    Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. Setting up manual tool change
    By Huskynut in forum CNC Machining Centers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-20-2015, 09:17 PM
  2. [noob] Setting Z after tool change
    By ToolChatter in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-08-2014, 10:57 PM
  3. Setting tool offsets and tool change position.
    By trishbits in forum CamBam
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-08-2013, 12:18 AM
  4. Kit Mycent 3X tool change setting I 80 control
    By rick kroeze in forum Kitamura
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-28-2012, 03:57 PM
  5. Setting the Z axis tool change height
    By TR MFG in forum Fadal
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-07-2009, 04:22 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •