541,075 active members*
2,823 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    11

    Settings for Motor Speed

    Is there a setting in Grbl Panel to limit the speed of the motors?
    I did change $100 through $122 in the Grbl settings, but when I closed the program all of the values reset back to their defaults.

    I've found that with my Nema23 motors (which have no identifiable marks on them) that the faster speed I can use is:

    Code:
    G91 G21 G01 X5 F35
    At this speed, this is the fastest it can go with enough torque to not have any slippage.


    With some sample code from Fusion360, I manually set F to 50, but it accelerates so much that the motor just sits and vibrates back and forth.
    Code:
    G90 G94
    G17
    G21
    G28 G91 Z0
    G90
    
    
    (Circular1)
    T1
    S12000 M3
    G54
    M8
    G0 X-46.25 Y-0.5
    Z15
    G1 Z0 F50
    Z-1.5
    G18 G2 X-45.75 Z-2 I0.5 K0
    G1 X-45.5
    G17 G3 X-45 Y0 I0 J0.5
    G2 X45 Y0 I45 J0
    X-45 Y0 I-45 J0
    G3 X-45.5 Y0.5 I-0.5 J0
    G1 X-45.75
    G18 G3 X-46.25 Z-1.5 I0 K0.5
    G1 Z15
    G17
    M9
    G28 G91 Z0
    G90
    G28 G91 X0 Y0
    G90
    M5
    M30

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    300

    Re: Settings for Motor Speed

    Is there a setting in Grbl Panel to limit the speed of the motors?.
    No, all motor settings are set in the grbl controller

    I did change $100 through $122 in the Grbl settings, but when I closed the program all of the values reset back to their defaults.
    Grbl settings set (the right way) will remain after a reboot. I am not familiar using grbl panel, but you could use the Arduino Serial Monitor to change the settings.

    As an example: Send $110=100 to the grbl controller to limit the X-axis max rate to 100 mm/min.

    Read the WiKi for more information https://github.com/gnea/grbl/wiki/Gr...-Configuration

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    11

    Re: Settings for Motor Speed

    I found that in Grbl panel that you HAVE to press the Enter key for the values to be applied. If you do not, then they will still be visible in the textbox until you close or get the GRBL settings again.
    This has cost me many hours of frustration!

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    300

    Re: Settings for Motor Speed

    Now you mention it, there are more program's that require to press enter before the change is actually applied.
    I am glad things are working now.
    Huub

Similar Threads

  1. powtran i9000 settings to control 3 phase motor speed
    By bluebumper in forum Phase Converters
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-21-2018, 02:50 PM
  2. Stepper motor ratings, MACH3 settings, motor stall
    By pavlik1 in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-11-2017, 09:06 AM
  3. Spindle Speed Settings
    By kolias in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-30-2014, 04:13 AM
  4. Hitachi M12VC speed settings
    By stefon in forum General WoodWorking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-08-2013, 06:49 AM
  5. Max Speed settings?
    By mikeschn in forum Xylotex
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-27-2004, 08:37 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •