Login

Thread: Captain L470

Captain L470

Hello to everyone we are looking at buying a 2004 Captain L470 1250
    and wondering if anyone knows anything about these. We have a
    1996 Cadet V4020 and a 1998 Crown 1060 we bought new and love them
    they are great machines we were just wondering about the Captain if
    anyone can help we would appreciate it.

my 2008 l470m has been a nightmare from day one.. ive talked about it in several earlier posts all of the information is there... others seem to like theirs though.. i guess its just luck of the draw.

good luck with your purchase if you decide to get it!

I personally really like the one I run. I am new to the control but it seems very capable. The machine itself seems very rigid but some people are in disagreement. It has only been about a month for me, so maybe I am totally off.

Nice surface finish with the live tools. The only complaint I have so far is the acceleration and deceleration of the chuck, take too long. Making tool changes a little slower than I would like.

That said, this machine has never been crashed, And the guy who ran it before had max spindle speed at 700 for all his programs. So we'll see what happens when it is worked for a while.

The company I work for also had real trouble finding someone who could run it in a job shop, and not for production. That is something to be considered.

Robert

Does your 2008 model crash or do you have other troubles

littlerob what year is your machine and what control

Quote Originally Posted by jw12 View Post
    littlerob what year is your machine and what control
    2006 and it is P200.

If you look through the threads in here you will see straggleweeds complaints. Valid IMO

Do you have any trouble out of your P200 control

Not at all. The 100 was a little frustrating because it was a kind of slow from mode to mode, ie AUTO to EDIT to TOOLDATA, but the 200 seems like they worked all of that out.

Robert