588,129 active members*
4,835 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > My home made cnc - Need a good spindle?

My home made cnc - Need a good spindle?

Hi there, this is my first post here. Hope i'm in the right section, but here goes!

I've just built this!...

(You may have to open these in a new window...)

6mm Aluminium base, 30mm thick HDPE blocks, bla bla bla... similar to the lumenlab micRos.

I want to use it to mill various things, but mainly, aluminium, acrylic, HDPE, and most importantly being an electronics student, PCBs!!!

The spindle you see is a old old old Dremel moto-flex I got off ebay for £30. It's a 110W motor fixed to 25,000 RPM. No good for cutting acrylic?

Thing is it's also very noisy and not variable. I'm a student and this sits in my bedroom screaming away, while my flat mates find it cool at the moment, I know it'll soon start getting on their nerves. I'm tempted to go for a Dremel Fortiflex, this any good? Nearly went and got a Kress 1050 FSE-1 but the achine won't support that weight too well.

In terms of some kind of coolant/lubricant for cutting aluminium, I've been using WD-40. Seems to work well but stinks out the room.

I cant use lots of liquid either because it'll end up all over the place, was thinking about using a water mist?

I need something similar to a Shopvac. living in the UK, I cant find any of those. Any small vacuum cleaner will do. Willing to try make one of those cyclone dust extractors.

So in summary, is anyone able to recommend:

A good spindle (not too heavy/noisy/under £250/variable speed)
    A non messy, non toxic coolant/lubricant
    A small quiet wet/dry workshop vaccume

Thanks all [=.

Hi,

Re- spindle, think your going to struggle to find a quite and light weight spindle with out building your own. I have the super quiet water cooled spindle but it's very heavy.