588,053 active members*
4,246 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Recommended Setup PLEASE!

I am a complete newbie, and I would like to here your opinions and recommendations for setting up my g540 on my diy router. I hope this is be the right place to post this, if not SORRY!
    I received my gecko g540 a week ago or so, and I have 57BYGH78-401A motors. They are rated at 2.8A, so I put a 2k7ohm current limit resistor. The motors get too hot IMO, I have measured about 75ºC after a quarter of an hour period of constant operation. Would changing the resistor to 2K reduce the heat? Is it a good idea?
    Keling sold me a 48V 7.8A power supply, they said it was perfect for the g540. I don't know, but isn't it a little tight?
    Another doubt I have is regarding the use of the 4 inputs and two outputs. I want to have homing switches on all 4 axis. So I guess that already uses up four inputs. If I wanted to use limit swithes independent from the home switches, would it be a good idea to have work in serial together with the e-stop?
    At the moment I don't have a proper spindle, I am using a normal hand mini-drill with manual speed control. The only thing I can think of is using one output to activate a relay to turn it on or off, but I can't think of anything to regulate the speed other than manually. Any ideas?
    Is an extra parallel port worth it for extra ins and outs?
    There are so many possibilities that I don't know what is best. I would like to hear your opinions on what setup is better or safer or cheaper or whatever. For your info, I am a hobbyist, not a pro, and I'm just doing this for fun. Thanks!

There is a thread about overheated motors and G540s here. Where is your resistor placed? Is it on the connector that plugs into the gecko, or is it close to the motor? If it's the latter, then you may have the problem the thread discusses.

I think the power supply you have is adequate.