588,084 active members*
4,905 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > Opening 3D files in V24

Opening 3D files in V24

Hi. I recently got V24 (I'm new to Bobcad). How do I open a SW part file (sldprt) or an .iges or even a .x_t? Every time I try to open one of these it locks up Bobcad and I have to close it and re-open it.

Thanks!

Scott

Try File-Merge instead of File-open.

Jessebobcad Guest
    Do you mean the program freezes? Have you run systems updates and graphics card updates? Running the latest version of the software?

You should just be able to do a File> Open> All BobCAD files at the bottom. Is this where it crashes?

Yes. That is where it locks up. I tried the merge option, tried opening from bobcad, tried opening a sldprt file with bobcad. I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I'm using V24.

Thanks,

Scott

Post a sample file that doesnt open in BobCad.

Here is the file in zip format.
    Thanks!
    Attached Files Attached Files

So I looked at your file and there definitely is a problem, but I am still unclear on what it is. Here is some conjecture.

It seems to be made with Version 2007 Solidworks? (Old and buggy with translators)

The solid has some bits malformed,, BUT, I opened it with Edrawings Viewer, though the clipping plane has trouble with the display (Most likely due to the malformed surfaces) I tried an import into Another Modeler which failed, though I updated it to a just released version and it imported.

I left it sit for awhile.. It didnt lock up. It was crunching away. Just way too long to expect anything..

Did you make this with your solidworks? Can you export the file as an IGES or STEP and try that?

I have seen some others fix issues by replacing their swdocumentmgr.dll with the one from the installed version of Solidworks, but I wouldnt recommend doing that.

Sorry, I've got nothing for you.