588,138 active members*
5,356 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Myford MG9 Cylindrical Grinder Parts

Myford MG9 Cylindrical Grinder Parts

Hi
    I recently aquired a Myford MG9 Cylindrical grinder.
    It needed a lot of work but is now working very well and giving fantasic results in both finish and accuracy (definately worth the effort).
    I am new to using cylindrical grinders and am unsure if the bedways should be lubricated with oil or grease. I am using coolant and I am concerned that if I use oil it will get washed out and the ways will rust but will grease do the job?- Anyone?

Also does anyone have any general information that may help me with this machine? and any ideas where I can get parts such as grinding wheels or
    what size wheel does it uses. I don't want to remove the one fitted to measure it until I need to as I don't yet have a balancer but would like a replacement, especially as it may take me some time to find one.
    The grind wheel bearing housing runs fairly warm. Its not hot and runs smoothly but is very warm after 20 minutes running at 3000rpm.
    Has anyone had any experience with these machines and is this normal?
    Does anyone have any information on the bearing type and configuration used here?

I would be willing to pay for a manual if anyone has one.

I would appreciate any help the you can offer
    Regards
    Jerry

Use a good quality way oil for lubrication. The grinder should be built so that the ways are protected from the coolant flow. If they are exposed then you are missing parts. Grease increases the possiblity of sticking which can drive you crazy trying to hold size. There should be an oil pump or drip supply on the wheel head and on the table.