588,395 active members*
5,140 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Syil Products > Newbie question: what's causing this finish?

Newbie question: what's causing this finish?

I'm new to milling and the SX3, but I've got my machine set up and it works fine w/ Mach3. I was testing out the wizard for circular pockets with a piece of aluminum, a .5" TiN end mill at 1500 RPM, .005" feed rate, and coolant. Everything was going fine, so I bumped the feed rate to .010". Things started OK, but then the machine started to shudder so I stopped and went back to a .005" feed rate, but the shuddering continued, so I quit. Attached is the photo of the lousy finish that resulted. The finish before I went to the .010" feed rate was good.

I assume I just learned that .010" is too fast under these conditions and I dulled my cutter, but I wanted to check here first for other interpretations. Thanks.

Involute
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails PocketTest1.jpg  

bad finish

how deep are you cutting with each pass? I found it is better to make multiple shallow fast cuts to get to depth than going for broke on the first pass.

bad surface

Is your mill square and trammed up properly?

From the one directional swirl pattern looks like it might not be square as well so the cutter is cutting on one edge instead of across the whole cutter which would also make a scalloped effect to the base of the cut

Regarding depth of pass, I shouldn't have used the term "feed rate" as I meant depth of each pass. I.e., initially I was taking off .005 with each pass and increased it to .010, which is when the trouble started.

As for tramming etc., I did go through the whole procedure and just remember thatI got it within spec; I don't remember the actual numbers.

Involute

Ten thou depth of cut with a 1/2" end mill in Aluminium ? That's a joke. You should be able to go 1/8" at least in one pass if the machine is capable.