587,401 active members*
3,561 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

fanuc subprogramming

i would like to know what is the subprogramming sequence for a part program that has 4 slots at 10mm deep and 15mm wide (from start to M30):drowning:

M98

..... you're leaving out way too many details here ....
    It's just a part..... cutter still goes round and round....

need more info. , size of blank (material thickness x width x length)
    (with and length of the slots and distance center to
    center of the slot, also the offset from the edge of the
    stock.)

part detail

Sorry guys 4 not giving more detail.I'm new to subprogramming.Hope this is what you need.part size(300x300).material thickness(70mm).slot offset from edge(30mm).slot depth(10mm),width(15mm).distance center to
    center of the slot(25mm)

A rough outline of the code (not using your real location/sizes)

Code:
    G90
    G0 X10.0 Y5.0 (position for first pocket)
    M98 P101 (call sub program)
    G0 X20.0 Y5.0
    M98 P101
    G0 X30.0 Y5.0
    M98 P101
    G0 X40.0 Y5.0
    M98 P101
    Code:
    O0101 (Sub to cut pocket in incremental)
    G91
    G1 X5.0 Z-1.0 F3.0
    (... pocket)
    G90
    M99
    If you have code that does (or can) repeat, cut it out into a separate program and call it as a sub. Make sure to keep track of modal commands going into and out of the subs. Like G1/G0 and G90/G91 ect. in this sample.

How and why you do this with your code is based on what your doing and why. Although usually space is a main reason. Another is reduced complexity when reading the main program. IE. 50 lines for the pocket replaced by a sub call and a comment if your nice.

I'm trying to write some G code macros that will run on as many different controllers as possible, so here's some more questions regarding Fanuc subroutine calls.

Is there a limit in the range of subroutine numbers that can be called, ie:
    O1234 (Does this number have to be in a subrange?)