587,272 active members*
4,987 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

CNCDIY owners

first of all if this is the wrong section im sorry! the forum has so many different sections i did not know where to post. i am new to CNC and infact milling in general. the wiring and computer stuff is not a problem and doesn't daunt me. but when it comes to choosing a machine am a little stuck. I am a complete noob so if i say something stupid sorry.

i want to mill aluminium to, possibly 10mm deep in some areas. Speed is not an issue as i will only use the machine infrequently.

ok after after looking at the sable 2015 the v90 and various others, i think im going to opt for the CNCDIY CNC2520

http://sites.google.com/site/cncdiymachines/cnc2520

it looks like it will fit my needs OK. Does anyone own one of these and can they give me any advice. or am i totally out of my depth, and i need a much more powerful machine for my intended use?

thanks in advance

That machine looks fine for wood. It is not good for aluminum. Why is it not good? A serious lack of rigidity. Every rail is unsupported. These unsupported rails will allow vibration to ruin every cut in aluminum unless you take VERY light cuts. The spindle is a high speed spindle and is made for wood. Again, extremely light cuts at very fast cutting feeds might let you cut aluminum, but if you think you can take cuts 10m (3/8") deep, the answer is no, no way, not with this machine.

Quote Originally Posted by MrWild View Post
    That machine looks fine for wood. It is not good for aluminum. Why is it not good? A serious lack of rigidity. Every rail is unsupported. These unsupported rails will allow vibration to ruin every cut in aluminum unless you take VERY light cuts. The spindle is a high speed spindle and is made for wood. Again, extremely light cuts at very fast cutting feeds might let you cut aluminum, but if you think you can take cuts 10m (3/8") deep, the answer is no, no way, not with this machine.