588,232 active members*
4,567 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Looking to build from plans or kit 5x10 table - reccomendations? CNCRP or Mechmate?

Looking to build from plans or kit 5x10 table - reccomendations? CNCRP or Mechmate?

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to the CNC world having picked up my Probotix V90 table a few months back. Now that I'm fairly familiar with the machine and the software (Mach3 / VCarve Pro) I'm absolutely ready for a much larger / capable table. I do a fair amount of woodworking - signs, cabinets, speakers, furniture and so forth. My favorite stock being a speaker designer/builder is Baltic Birch in 5x5 sheets so I'd like a 5x10 table to accommodate those as well as the normal 4x8 ply material. My background is in IT/programming/comp sci and I have a fair amount of mechanical/electrical experience as well. I also have a fair amount of help handy from friends who are ME/EEs.

I've been looking hard at a custom CNCRP 5x10 'kit' but I'm also considering a mechmate build which look like a lot of fun as well. I have the plans and have been looking through them. I don't currently have a welder nor do I know how to weld but I'm always willing to pick up new skills for projects and/or find someone who can help. I have a brand new 12x32 shed/workshop which I had built just for my woodworking and to house the new CNC. I'm not in any huge rush to complete the project and want to do it right with no regrets. A 3 axis setup would do just fine for my purposes, perhaps with the option to add a 4th later on. I'm a big fan of the R&P setup with a ballscrew on the Z. I'd like to be efficient and will be using NEMA34 motors for sure. My budget for the build is a 6-8k target including table and all electronics. I'd like the ability to add a vacuuam table later on as well.

Any insight is very much appreciated. Thanks for your time.

Andrew
    Thornton, PA