587,006 active members*
2,878 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question the rack and pinion machine motor torque

I am a crazy hobbyist attempting to build a cheap and precise machine in my house.

precise enough to cut parts for plexiglas enclosures at least

I want to use rack and pinion drive, where the motor would drive the pinion directly over the rack.

Can you check my math please:

I am really not sure how I know the carriage acceleration. My machine will move the dremel tool over the material most probably.

Thank you.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails NEWTON meters.GIF  

For any mechanical system, you will need to know the mass you want to accelerate, and the force you can impart to that mass. F=ma. For a rack and pinion system, this is not too hard, but it will require that you look at your stepper motor torque curve, and that you know the diameter of your pinion gear.

Let's take an example with our components -- we'll do it in metric so we don't have to deal with slugs as a unit of mass . Our rack and pinion system offers a 25.4mm (1") pitch diameter pinion and a 3:1 reduction. At low rpm's, our stepper motors have around 2 Nm of torque (note, this is important to check on any motors you are considering -- pretty much everyone advertises stall torque, which is not a very useful number). With the 3:1 reduction, this is augmented to 6 Nm. At a radius of 12.7mm on the pinion, this means the system can exert a force of 6000Nmm/12.7mm = 472 N.