587,472 active members*
3,067 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Hybrid View

Powermax 45 help

Hi,

I've been enjoying my powermax 45 for around 6 months or so now I guess, but have started having some troubles.

Arc starting has progressively been failing more and more often. A month ago, it would only fail to start after sitting a day, now it fails after sitting an hour sometimes, and requires lots of purging and several on/off torch cycles to get it to fire. After that it works normally.

I had some moisture trouble, and only recently added a "motorguard" submicronic paper element filter right next to the plasma unit.

It seems to cut normally on short runs, but when cutting lots of parts, I start to have trouble with inconsistent cuts on some parts, and failed arc starts.

Is there anything I should try to cure this? Have I damaged my plasma unit from using inadequately filtered air?

Thanks
    www.steelplinkers.com

I can offer advice that may be causing the issue, but the best advice will come from the Hypertherm tech service staff. The call is free, and they spend their days talking with Hypertherm systems users, and likely will be able to walk you through the issues.

Contact info: Technical Service
    [email protected]
    800-643-9878 Tel - Toll Free in USA
    and Canada

Here are a few things that can affect starting of a blowback style torch:

1. Electrode and nozzle....have you replaced these?
    2. Retaining cap may be overtightened....it only should be snug.
    3. Swirl ring...over time these can wear out, which will impede starting. Replace.
    4, Retaining cap could need replacement.
    5. Inlet air pressure too high. Turn Amps knob fully ccw, adjust air regulator while air is flowing using LED pressure indicator on front panel.