586,925 active members*
2,700 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Threaded View

Small desktop mill - New builder, advice appreciated

Hi readers of the zone,

Been lurking for quite a few years and even started my first build. I May have bitten off more than I could chew trying to build a 1.5tonn cnc router and since settled to build a small mill first. To be honest it was mainly so I could cut the parts I need for the bigger router and nothing to do with how sadly satisfying I find learning about cnc milling

My build so far has taken quite some time as I have spent less than 10 hours behind a very old VMC and maybe half a week behind a manual mill this is all very new.

My progress has been slow because I have little experience/confidence and often worry if I have pulled the right information from around the zone together to result in a well balanced design.

Could more experienced members could look over my design and help weed out any flaws before I commit to sending parts out to be machined would really help me a lot.

I have been given the last warning from my better half about my cnc spending and informed I am to finish something within two months or its all going back on ebay! Sadly it may also have to do with the fact I spend ANY of my spare time working on my cad model and finding new things to worry about/redsign!

So this build post will be about what I have done so far I guess...

Electronics:

Done and dusted, well apart from drilling a few holes in the enclosure for the buttons and lights...

Inside my controller I have:

Pmdx 132 BOB with 4 203v gecko drives underneath
    a small bank of 24vdc relays mostly switching low voltage systems
    a 24v dc power supply
    2-3 relays switching 240v dc
    bleed resistor
    1 1000va trodial transformer, bridge rectifier and a 18800uf bank of caps (supplying around 65vdc to the drives)
    Huanyang VFD