586,741 active members*
3,039 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Researching new build

Good day and happy Easter/Passover!

I am starting to research a new build and hoping I can get some links and suggestions from the community.

Background and needs:
    - Experienced cabinetmaker
    - I work in a shop that already has a CNC. This would be a supplementary machine. Sort of a half hobby build fun project for me in my spare time while allowing the shop to do engravings and odd one off pieces.

- Funding from my shops end TBD and I am trying to keep my end low.
    - MDF and ply is free due to whats lying around, metals and such would need to be purchased.
    - Looking to machine wood, MDF, and ply only. MAYBE one day plastics of some sort, but unlikely. Only metal that might be aluminum laminate on MDF core, so not really an issue and highly unlikely to be needed.

- The space available is about 2.25M by 2.5M
    - The joes 2006 is looking good as MDF is available, and the parts could be cut out on our big cnc. Also its proven, well discussed, and large enough.
    - I do not think we have the space or funding for a 4x4 hybrid nor a real need for such production or large sizes. I have read many a time that people always wished they built bigger, but we don't need that. We already have the capacity, this is more for small things and whatever I get an inkling to do in spare time.
    - I do not see a lot of talk or joy about the Solsyvas, are they fine designs?

- What would be quite useful and something that would almost be required would be a 4th axis rotary. Doing some spindles for legs and such for custom projects would save a bit of time on our lathes.
    - The only joes 2006 I could find with a rotary axis was that the guy extended his Y-axis and raised up a lathe beside the machine. I don't have the space or a free lathe for that. Also I would like to do it with an indexer as opposed to a free running lathe.