509,713 active members
3,145 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 12 of 15
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    7

    VF3 366 unused alarm

    Does anybody have any insight into alarm 366 unused alarm?
    Machine is a VF3, software version 9.05n.

    I am trying a new program, when running in dry run I get the alarm in a milling block. I have searched the manual and the net to no avail.

    This is the only program I am getting it in. So, I am sure there is an issue with the program. But I have been staring at it for too long and am missing something simple I am sure.

    N4T4 M6
    G17G80G40
    G54
    S1000M3
    G90G0X3.5Y0M8
    G43Z.125H4
    G41Z.05D4
    G1Z-.32F5.
    Y-.5
    X11.5
    G3X11.5Y.5R.5
    G1X3.5
    G3X3.5Y-.5R.5 (This is where the cursor is when I get the alarm)
    G1Z.05
    G0X3.5Y0.
    The program repeats from here pecking deeper.

    What have I done wrong?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1184

    Re: VF3 366 unused alarm

    Quote Originally Posted by Dak109 View Post
    Does anybody have any insight into alarm 366 unused alarm?
    Machine is a VF3, software version 9.05n.

    I am trying a new program, when running in dry run I get the alarm in a milling block. I have searched the manual and the net to no avail.

    This is the only program I am getting it in. So, I am sure there is an issue with the program. But I have been staring at it for too long and am missing something simple I am sure.

    N4T4 M6
    G17G80G40
    G54
    S1000M3
    G90G0X3.5Y0M8
    G43Z.125H4
    G41Z.05D4
    G1Z-.32F5.
    Y-.5
    X11.5
    G3X11.5Y.5R.5
    G1X3.5
    G3x3.5Y-.5R.5. (This is where the cursor is when I get the alarm)
    G1Z.05
    G0X3.5Y0.
    The program repeats from here pecking deeper.

    What have I done wrong?

    366 (M) MISSING I, K, OR L IN G70, G71, G72 - Check canned cycles for missing values I, K or L

    I also noticed that in the line you have noted, your X command is in lower case.

    Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    7

    Re: VF3 366 unused alarm

    THe lower case x is an iPad typo.

    I also forgot to mention that when I use a zero value in tool offset diameter the program runs all the way through. If I put a value in I get the alarm.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    713

    Re: VF3 366 unused alarm

    In that line, you have a decimal place before AND after the R value.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    7

    Re: VF3 366 unused alarm

    Just checked the program, anothe fat finger iPad typo.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    7

    Re: VF3 366 unused alarm

    fixed original post typo's

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1184

    Re: VF3 366 unused alarm

    Quote Originally Posted by Dak109 View Post

    I also forgot to mention that when I use a zero value in tool offset diameter the program runs all the way through. If I put a value in I get the alarm.
    Sounds like a cutter comp/math issue. It will probably run if you take out the G41 also.
    Hopefully others better at programming will offer better assistance soon.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    6

    Re: VF3 366 unused alarm

    have had this happen over the years, simply just went the g3g90 i j k route its just a few more characters, and always worked.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    7

    Re: VF3 366 unused alarm

    I have tried the IJK route. Get an alarm to the effect of invalid IJK. I have to rotate the shape around a part so I am trying to not add any more trig than I have to. When I tried G68 it was worse.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    119

    Re: VF3 366 unused alarm

    I can't say for sure why you are getting that alarm, but I think the fact that you don't have a lead in for your G41 move might be causing you problems. Sometimes programs will work with compensation not coded correctly, as long as there is no actual compensation value. Try making a XY move into cutter compensation. I ran your program through my control and it worked fine, but my control is newer.
    ____________________________
    My blog: http://www.fletch1.com

  11. #11
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1800

    Re: VF3 366 unused alarm

    Near as I can see the problem is in the line you are getting an error in. Because your previous lines moves X to X3.5, how can it it move to the same location again and move the Y distance. If you are trying to move in a full circle, X3.5 full circle to X3.5, you can't do it with an R or radius move with a Haas control. An "R" move must be 180 Deg or less.

    G1X3.5
    G3X3.5Y-.5R.5 (This is where the cursor is when I get the alarm)

    Of course we don't know why you are invoking cutter comp in the first place or what diameter you are calling up.

    Mike
    Two Haas VF-2's, Haas HA5C, Haas HRT-9, Hardinge CHNC 1, Bother HS-300 Wire EDM, BobCAD V23, BobCAD V28

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    7

    Re: VF3 366 unused alarm

    Fltch,
    Your reply got me to thinking about the G41 and G40 in my program. I think I may have it figured out. I turned on cutter comp at the beginning of this tool. I didn't turn it off until the too, was finished running after doing 20 pecks at 4 different locations, I am cutting T-slots in a 1.25 inch plate. When I changed the program to turn on and off at each location the alarm went away.

    We will see if it carries through for the rest of the program.

    Thanks for the help. And making me think through all of the possibilities.

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Picked up a unused(used) 3040T
    By tauntdesigns in forum Chinese Machines
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 08-26-2014, 01:47 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-10-2013, 04:36 PM
  3. FS New Unused BobCad-Cam V24 w/Training Videos
    By pepperwood in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-01-2011, 06:02 AM
  4. what to do with unused pins on 16f84??
    By patriciooholegu in forum PIC Programing / Design
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-25-2009, 02:17 PM
  5. New unused DC Servo Controller...
    By Dave's_Not_Here in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-07-2005, 09:32 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •