535,564 active members*
4,227 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > OpenSource CNC Design Center > OpenSource Software > gcode ripper not starting at origin
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    5

    gcode ripper not starting at origin

    I am attempting a pcb with cnc router. All is set up and after crashing my bit and breaking it, i set up the design size 2mm smaller for tolerence. When i run gcode ripper however it probes the first spot at X-0.1 and Y-0.6
    Why does it move and not probe at X0 and Y0? Is there a way i can get it to do this?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    226

    Re: gcode ripper not starting at origin

    It sounds like your design tool paths extend to a minimum X value of -0.1 and a minimum Y value of -0.6.

    G-Code Ripper can adjust the origin for you if you want it to. To adjust the origin you just set the Origin setting to Bottom Left ("Bot-Left") then the zero position will be at the bottom left corner of the design. Beware, if you do this and then do a subsequent operation like drilling the holes may not line up because you are asking G-Code Ripper to adjust the origin position.
    Scorch
    www.scorchworks.com

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by scorch View Post
    It sounds like your design tool paths extend to a minimum X value of -0.1 and a minimum Y value of -0.6.

    G-Code Ripper can adjust the origin for you if you want it to. To adjust the origin you just set the Origin setting to Bottom Left ("Bot-Left") then the zero position will be at the bottom left corner of the design. Beware, if you do this and then do a subsequent operation like drilling the holes may not line up because you are asking G-Code Ripper to adjust the origin position.

    Ah. Another homer simpson moment. It goes to a negative because the software is using a cutting to that goes half a tool length beyond the design border to cut the board size you specified. Thanks i got it sorted

Similar Threads

  1. G-code Ripper for newbie
    By Jocman in forum OpenSource Software
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-24-2018, 02:41 PM
  2. Slotting with a ripper
    By jonnoCT in forum CNC Tooling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-04-2016, 07:27 PM
  3. the ripper - large area DIY CNC
    By MaxTheModder in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-05-2014, 01:24 AM
  4. Ripper Mate!
    By rocket67 in forum Excitech routers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-30-2008, 06:41 PM
  5. Vm1 starting Gcode
    By copperhead4321 in forum HURCO
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-20-2008, 09:13 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •