586,728 active members*
3,488 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Questions for pcnc1100 owners.. part size limitation

Questions for pcnc1100 owners.. part size limitation

Hello all,

I am strongly considering the Tormach PCNC 1100 mill. looking at getting their super package. I am a fabricator and welder for performance automotive parts and have a little experience in CNC from college in machine and tool design classes. mainly Cam software training and CNC Lathe operations.

I saw the pricing on this Tormach and almost fell out of my chair.. I remember thinking of CNC Mills as too far out of reach pricewise for a beginner/hobbiest.

My questions to you guys is regarding the size of the parts you can make with this machine. I see the travel distances and would assume that the part must fall inside that envelope. is this correct? If I wanted to make a prototype cylinder head design for testing purposes dimensions of the part would be cut from a 6x8x20 block. I have a long way to go in learning the capabilities of this machine but would like to mainly do small jobs with it. The head would be prototype work and not production obviously that would be an outsourced part for production or most likely casting and then machining.

so what is the biggest stuff you guys are making with this machine?

Thanks in advance!

Chris

The datasheet says 18" of X travel, so with a 1/2" end mill you have just under 17.5" of exterior machining, conversly it could lend you up to 19" of pocketing with a 1" endmill (or so).
    BlueFin CNC LLC
    Southern Oregon