586,900 active members*
2,613 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Engraving powdercoated aluminum

Hello All - Been searching the forum for the info I need, and had no luck, so I'm hoping someone might be able to point me in the right direction.

I build effects pedals for guitar, and use hammond type enclosures (basically pot metal). I powder coat them, and would like to look into a laser to cut in lettering, logos, drill markers, etc.

It would need to cut through the powdercoat, and leave the bare metal (which is typically somewhat polished pre-powdercoating).

Here's an example of the kind of thing I'm looking to do (not my work):

I only need a 8" square working range with 3" of height (more is always good...I'm sure we'll find more uses for it).

The Epilog Zing looks pretty great, but is a bit more than we're looking to spend (I was hoping to keep it to $5K). I'm new to the world of lasers, so a reputable company with good customer support is a must.

Any ideas of models/makes to look into?

Thanks!

Greg

would not milling the powder coat compromise the remaining coating leading to peeling? if not this should not be too hard.

Quote Originally Posted by the4thseal View Post
    would not milling the powder coat compromise the remaining coating leading to peeling? if not this should not be too hard.
    From my experience, it shouldn't. PC is pretty tough if cured right. Clear coat powder is an option over the top as well. What do you think is the min. wattage laser needed for the job?

I have lasered a bit of powder coated aluminum and steel, both work really well. You may have to run two passes to get it really clean, but it goes pretty fast, even with my 30 watt laser. If you had 45 or 60 watts it would help, but 30 will suffice.