587,030 active members*
3,246 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: 2.5 vs 3d

Page 1 of 2 12

2.5 vs 3d

I hope this is the correct area for this. I am still struggling with the difference between 2.5 and 3d. There is quite a difference in price between the two softwares. I would like to see some pictures of complex 2.5d projects if you have any.

Most specifically I want to know about Dolphin Partmaster Pro.

Can hemisphere/dome or convex/dish machining be done with it?

Do all three axes move simultaneously?

Please excuse my ignorance, I have no experience with CNC at all, but want to.

Please don't forget pics!

Thanks

csaw

I know how you feel.

But 2.5D is a shape with a constant Z depth setting for the profile the only exception is when you may have a ramping motion set for the PLUNGE and then it runs X & Y at a constant Z depth

3D is any shape where all three axis may be moving at once

Then there will be a step up in price again for 4th axis and even more for 5th axis

Phil

I can't help you with Dolphin but can make references to 2.5D and 3D.

CAD and CAM are different in the aspects of 2.5D and 3D.

This is a part created in a 2D CAD environment using various plains, 2D Geometry, with Solids.

This part will need a 3 Axis Mill to machine it.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Toby D.
    "Imagination and Memory are but one thing, but for divers considerations have divers names"
    Schwarzwald

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

www.refractotech.com

This one is 2.5D and has no need for 3 Axis Machining
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Toby D.
    "Imagination and Memory are but one thing, but for divers considerations have divers names"
    Schwarzwald

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

www.refractotech.com

Quote Originally Posted by tobyaxis View Post