587,255 active members*
2,934 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Exclamation Simple G code loop needed!

Hello everyone! I am an undergraduate student who just got into a research laboratory with a professor. My task is to program our laser (which functions with G code) to make fairly simple designs, but a lot of them. I need to find a way to run a simple loop where I can designate the start point (probably absolute coordinates), allow it to run maybe 20-30 times, making a simple design (in a horizontal x direction) and then return to the start position, only an increased y amount upwards, so I may begin another row. I think I have the other parts down, I just need a way to run the loop a specified number of times without having to program the same code 100000 times and I am not very familiar with G code.

Thank you all very much!

https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&p...Z3RMN&hl=en_US

This is the manual for controlling the stage. I am afraid there might be limiting factor because of what G codes it allows. Please let me know. Thank you very much.

You need something called Nesting S/W, this takes a single part/shape and nests it efficiently on a certain material sheet size, it will also rotate parts in order to reduce waste.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Quote Originally Posted by gcodehelp View Post