587,997 active members*
3,672 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > CNC Swiss Screw Machines > Simple question regarding K16 programming

Simple question regarding K16 programming

I'm new to Citizen machinery, and trying to figure out programming quirks. Myself and some others have been hired to not only run the Citizens, but to also clean up programs, and make them more efficient. One thing we wish to do is have the tool information both in the setup sheet, and our program.

An example of the first few lines of code for one block may look like this:

( FACE) ;
    N1 ;
    T0300 (55 DEG TURN) ;
    (DCGT3(2.5)0(5)-AFV12K) ;

The machine did not like the last line sitting by itself, and gave me an alarm. I then tried changing it to read like this:

( FACE) ;
    N1 ;
    T0300 (55 DEG TURN=DCGT3(2.5)0(5)-AFV12K) ;

I know the = sign has uses in programming, but I was under the understanding that anything within ( ) will be ignored, since it's usually intended for comments. The machine gave me a different alarm, and still does not like something in this block's structure. I know for a fact that I can have just (55 DEG TURN), and not get any issues. I'm just stumped at the moment as to what difference is giving me alarms.

I was curious if using [ ] will give me a different effect, or get ignored as well. I'm trying to find something in the programming book for the machine on this, but have come up with nothing as of yet.

How can I have the tool info in the program while being ignored by the machine? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Try removing the parenthesis inside parenthesis.

Im only marginally familiar with citizen controls and programming so take this with a grain of salt:

Why not just use the word "is", "use" or "insert" instead of "="?

Example:
    T0300 (55 DEG TURN)
    (INSERT-DCGT3(2.5)0(5)-AFV12K) ;

On Fanuc controls I once tried to put
    (USE SUB PROGRAM O5555)