588,487 active members*
5,408 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Slitting-slotting saws

I need to cut some slots in 6061 T6. I've never used a saw before and could use lots of advice. MSC lists both slitting and slotting saws, carbide teeth and solid carbide, some with key ways, most without.

I need to cut two slots, one .060 wide and the other .261. The saws listed for nonferrous have only 4 or 6 teeth on a 3" diameter. Is there an arbor ( mfg.?) that will clamp down hard enough to keep a 3" saw from moving? Suggestions on speeds, feeds, and DOC appreciated. Also alternative sources to MSC.

Vern

A few rules on Sliting saws.

1) be sure to have at least 2 teeth in the material at the same time.
    2) lots of Coolant
    3) Feeds and speeds are very light like .0005 per tooth

ex. 3 inch diameter 27 teeth would be around 100 to 150 rpm and 1.35 Inches Per Minute. Carbide is about 10% higher in feeds and speeds.
    Toby D.
    "Imagination and Memory are but one thing, but for divers considerations have divers names"
    Schwarzwald

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

www.refractotech.com

How deep are you slotting, for very shallow slots I have used a boring bar with a groving insert in it. Works well but you are limited on depth.

The .060 wide slot will be shallow, around .100 to .125, The .261 will be .700 deep. How well do the saws behave when stepped over? As an example, using a .125 thich blade to cut the .261 slot.

Thanks for the input.

Vern

Quote Originally Posted by Vern Smith View Post
    The .060 wide slot will be shallow, around .100 to .125, The .261 will be .700 deep. How well do the saws behave when stepped over? As an example, using a .125 thich blade to cut the .261 slot.

Thanks for the input.

Vern