587,427 active members*
4,668 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Small CNC mill for super-fine detail (Newbie Q's)

Small CNC mill for super-fine detail (Newbie Q's)

I am new to CNC, but have been reading up on it for quite a while now (started about a year ago). I need a small CNC that can mill very fine detail. What I want to do with it is take model kit parts I have, which I will redesign in CAD, and mill pieces that are either half the (linear) size or twice. I build Star Wars studio scale replicas, and am interested in making models that are either half studio scale or twice - need a machine that can allow me to replicate the detail parts.

Has a machine like this been built before?

I figure with a small machine, I should be able to control the accuracy/precision. Is this incorrect?

I can tell that for some parts, more than 3 axes would be best...

Please give me your input!

What do you consider fine detail? Plus or minus 0.001" or plus or minus 0.0001"? You can't go better than 0.0001" unless you start talking about temperature controlled rooms.

Or are you a fine woodworker where plus or minus 0.01" is fine detail?

You need to put numbers on things and you might find that a small low cost machine simply cannot do what you need.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

Quote Originally Posted by Geof View Post
    What do you consider fine detail? Plus or minus 0.001" or plus or minus 0.0001"? You can't go better than 0.0001" unless you start talking about temperature controlled rooms.

Or are you a fine woodworker where plus or minus 0.01" is fine detail?

You need to put numbers on things and you might find that a small low cost machine simply cannot do what you need.