587,789 active members*
4,356 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Smithy > Smithy Granite 220V brushless motor upgrade wiring

Smithy Granite 220V brushless motor upgrade wiring

I have a Smithy Granite 1324. I recently ordered their 220V brushless motor upgrade but I'm not sure how to wire power to the unit. I have a standard four prong, 50A 220V outlet in my garage (L1, L2, N, PE). The wiring diagram for the switch that came with the motor shows that it wants L, N and PE. Is it possible that this system expects a single line with 220V on it?

I have attached scans of the manual that came with the motor. Page 6 shows the wiring diagram in question. The switch came wired a bit differently than the diagram shows and I have added a drawing at the bottom of how it's really hooked up. It looks like it's doing the same thing to me but I'm not an electrician. I've tried searching for more information on the motor and controller but the only reference I can find anywhere is the wiring diagram that is hosted on Smithy's website.

A friend of mine who is an electrician told me to contact Smithy and ask them how to hook it up but after two emails and about two weeks I still haven't heard from them. He mentioned that in the past he has had to set up transformers for customers who needed a single 220V line. Does this seem like it would be a possible solution?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Page1.jpg   Page2.jpg   Page3.jpg   Page4.jpg  

Page5.jpg   Page6.jpg   Page7.jpg   Page8.jpg  

Most of the rest of the world uses 240v, hot and neutral, in N.A. you have 240v both hot, the neutral is the centre tap at 120v.
    If you require the 240v hook up, just use the two 240v hot lines and ground (PE), ignore the neutral label and connect one side of your 240v to it.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.