543,675 active members*
2,309 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    7

    solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation

    Hi there,
    Need help with solidcam to configure gMill_Haas_4x_eval to simulate 4th axis rotation.
    Just built the 4th rotary axis and added to my DIY 3 axis CNC.
    Unfortunately I am not able to make solidcam to simulate/rotate the A axis (around X).
    I am testing with a simple disk having coordinate system in the center / Xaxis normal to the disk.
    I use Machine: gMill_Haas_4x_eval coming with solidcam 2013.

    Your advice is highly appreciated.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails hass_4x_1.jpg  

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    153

    Re: solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation

    You have to make a 4 axis tool path to simulate 4-axis . The operation you created is imachining 3D which is a 3 axis tools path . This video might help
    CAM SolidCAM for Art - YouTube

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    7

    Re: solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation

    Fantastic, finally I can see it rotating . I really appreciate your help. I have bookmark your link.

    Is the machine simulation hard to configure? When running machine simulation it claims:

    C:\Users\Public\Documents\SolidCAM\SolidCAM2014\Ta bles\MachSim\TableTable_New not found!
    C:\Users\Public\Documents\SolidCAM\SolidCAM2014\Ta bles\MachSim\TableTable_New\TableTable_New.xml not found!
    Tool is not defined in machine simulation xml file.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    153

    Re: solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation


  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    7

    Re: solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation

    Thanks again. It will take me some time to digest it but it is absolutely perfect.
    Appreciate your library 

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    7

    Re: solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation

    Just discovered the "SolidCAM Milling Help" as a very detailed and useful documentation.

    I have the 4th axis functional now and testing with a more complicated shape. Still would like your help in matching the right operation for this shape. I have tried with contour and face but the chains are not correct. If you would like to point me in the right direction for the right operation I would really appreciate it very much. I am attaching the image.
    Attachment 280230

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    153

    Re: solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation

    Post the solid file here we might able to help

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    7

    Re: solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation

    Thank you for spending the time with my project. Please find attached worm3.SLDPRT in zip format.
    Besides the contours on the edges of the disk, winding around y axis I couldn't find an operation to cut each "pocket"...

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    153

    Re: solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation

    you have to use multi-axis tool paths to for those surfaces . i have done a sample for you
    Attachment 280336Attachment 280338
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/a8taeglboj...20new.exe?dl=0

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    7

    Re: solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation

    You may wonder why I didn't provide any feedback in the last two days. First, I was really impressed about your very professional presentation. I appreciate your time and skills. Second, I tried to follow your recommendations. I am not yet there but I got the idea.
    I try though to understand where you got the surface for first operation “ParC”. In my “CAD selection” it is a feature “Cut_Sweep1”, with sketch4 /circle and leading curve sketch1 /circle.

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    153

    Re: solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation

    Alright ! To create a presentation select machine simulation then go to file tab select create a presentation it will create a file for you in order to view the file you need solidcam installed

    About the first operation I created a configuration which hides the cut-sweep2 and the curve pattern1 this way you could easily select the surface . The operation is parallel to curves . I hope you know how to select the geometry for this operation. In tool axis control / click on the rotary axis and select point tool to rotary axis this way the tool will stand straight and use roughing passes if you actually gonna machine the part

    For second operation change the configuration to default now you have your cuts visible . The operation is morph between two boundary curves and I choose a lollipop mill for this coz the cut seems inward which can't reach with a regular ball endmill . Hope you got the idea
    Cheers

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    7

    Re: solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation

    Following “Danijel Djurica’s tutorial about: “SolidCAM: How to build machine simulation for 4-axis machine” I start creating my .stl files for a basic CNC 3x+rotary axis. There were two questions popping out along the process:
    1. There is no option to “export” from VMid editor. I could see the same question in 2014 (Machine simulation and XML file / imachining-6061 / 09-19-2014, 07:50 AM) with no replies.
    So I have created a basic 4X.xml file using Machine Simulator and the Solid Cam Milling Help but no other details. Even the help has numerous inconsistencies, starting with the “Save as” which strictly saves only with vmid extension. I cannot see yet the use of 4X.vmid tool if the simulation looks only after 4X.xml.
    2. My next step is creating the G code. What would be the post processor 4X.GPP suitable for this basic 4X CNC or what’s the procedure to build it?

    All the time I appreciate your help.

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    153

    Re: solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation

    Hope you got the machine simulation working ? For the Gpp use the generic haas SS 4x machine type it will post the Gcode but you need to confirm the rotary direction

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    188

    Re: solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation

    Quote Originally Posted by mycnc2012 View Post
    Following “Danijel Djurica’s tutorial about: “SolidCAM: How to build machine simulation for 4-axis machine” I start creating my .stl files for a basic CNC 3x+rotary axis. There were two questions popping out along the process:
    1. There is no option to “export” from VMid editor. I could see the same question in 2014 (Machine simulation and XML file / imachining-6061 / 09-19-2014, 07:50 AM) with no replies.
    So I have created a basic 4X.xml file using Machine Simulator and the Solid Cam Milling Help but no other details. Even the help has numerous inconsistencies, starting with the “Save as” which strictly saves only with vmid extension. I cannot see yet the use of 4X.vmid tool if the simulation looks only after 4X.xml.
    2. My next step is creating the G code. What would be the post processor 4X.GPP suitable for this basic 4X CNC or what’s the procedure to build it?

    All the time I appreciate your help.
    Hi there, I'm building my machine sim also and crossed the same problem, when i right click the machine there's no Export to MachSim option, can you tell me how did you create de xml file?

    best regards

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    574

    Re: solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation

    Make a copy of an xml file rename it with the name of your machine
    put it on the directory where it should be
    edit it clean the geometry and the axes of the old machine with machfile
    save it
    no go back to MachineIdEditor.exe with the name of your machine
    and do like in the video

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    2

    Re: solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation

    Hello everyone

    I have come across the same problem, there is no "export to machsim" in my solidcam as well. Therefore I have try the method that "rokag3 " provide. I go in to MachSim and open a existing xml file, but it does not allow me to edit it. Does anyone know why ? or can help me out ?

    Also does it mean there is no point make your own post(the one create by machine editor)? since you are not able to combine and export it to Machsim ??

    Best Regards


    Attachment 325144

  17. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    11

    Re: solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation

    Did you find a way to create a XML file for simulation?

  18. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    11

    Re: solidcam simulate 4th axis rotation

    Great! I got it working too!
    thanks a lot rokag3

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    1
    Hello everyone , i have the same problem as you have with NO EXPORT TO MACHSIM .Can you help me with this !
    Thanks a lot !

  20. #20
    Solidcam 2019 simulation is great all ok but the code is wrong only A axis 1 position will post other degree not posting using a fanuc 4x eval post is there any post processor error or I don't know please help

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-11-2017, 10:31 PM
  2. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-19-2014, 05:55 AM
  3. A axis rotation ????
    By dunnitagain in forum Fadal
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-29-2011, 01:50 AM
  4. Rotation along the y axis?
    By HereinCS in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 05:27 PM
  5. B axis rotation
    By fitzpatrick2362 in forum General MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-12-2009, 12:06 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •