540,355 active members*
864 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 20 of 36
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    246

    Sounds of machines

    Hello all,

    Wjbzone uses stepper motor at own cnc and
    Balsaman uses DC servo motor at own cnc.

    I am great interesting sound(noise) of this two machines.

    If possible for this purpose;

    1. dont run the spindle motor.
    2. Draw circle at air with your machine (5" radius)

    Can you make sound wave file while machine work at this conditions?
    Can you post this wave files this group?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    416
    I've listened to that on my steppers. The pitch goes from low to high on each motor. Sounds cool.

    I'll have to find my microphone to record it.

    How does the servo sound differ?

    Bill

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2139
    Mine makes a very quiet whine. Much quieter than the full step steppers on my other machine. I am not sure you would pick it up with a microphone.

    Eric
    I wish it wouldn't crash.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    246
    I think DC servo motor must very slient.

    I used stepper motor at the my hoby cnc and i used microstep.
    I dont hear any noise at the Microstep operations, But microstep reduce the axis speeds. Now I will use DC motor instead of step motors. (and i will change the controller)

    I want to listen your machine's sound becouse,

    I didnt see any other hoby cnc and i want to compare some properties.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2139
    I am on vacation right now. I will try and record it when I get home again.

    Eric
    I wish it wouldn't crash.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    500
    Do steppers vibrate when they are standing still, and make a little whistling shhhhhhh noise? Is this normal? Are steppers meant to hold still for long periods of time?
    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    246
    Do steppers vibrate when they are standing still, and make a little whistling shhhhhhh noise? Is this normal? Are steppers meant to hold still for long periods of time?
    I think this sound is not normal. I remember this noise at the my firts L297/L298 driver. I dont like this sound but not problem for the step motors.
    This sound source must be wrong calibrated chopper drivers.(motor current has noise)

    My step motor work with my last driver and completely slient.

    Some times i forget to shutting off my cnc and next day i notice. I dont hear any noise but step motor and driver temprature increase.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    500
    I have the Xylotex driver, and I changed it to full step. Even if not connected to the parallel port it makes a shhhhhhhh noise on every motor. I have the voltage set at 2.88V which is 2 amps for each motor. The motor's max I think is 2.07. Is this just too close to the max amperage for these motors?
    Thanks.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    246
    You can work near the current settings limits this is not problem. Also you can use 4A step motor by 3A driver. Driver limits the current at the 3A.

    You can change the voltage of driver. Forexample if you use 24v try 18V or 26V. What happen you can see?

    Did you ask to manufacturer for this problem?

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    500
    Ok, I may try 12 volts then. But what does normal operating sound like, just like a normal electric motor, is there any vibration normally?
    Thanks.

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    246
    If acoustic noise not problem for you. You can use your driver and step motor, this is not problem for driver or step motor. (Some electrical and iron loss may be increase but completely negligible)

    (This sounds problem for me. I dont want to hear)

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    500
    So, your saying that I should just try the board and motor, and the noise shouldn't be a problem performance wise. It won't deteriorate the moter or board slowly with the wrong settings? Also, what do you mea iron loss?
    Thanks for the input.

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    246
    Connect motor to driver and give the power and continuosly follow the temprature of driver.

    If dont increase no problem. 30..40 Centigrate Degree is a normal.

    Iron loss is a term for lossing energy in the magnetic material of motors or transformators.

    Why do you ask this problem to Xylotex company?

    If you ask them i want to learn the answer. (This type problems very importand for me)

  14. #14
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35442
    How do you have everything connected? Are you plugged into the parallel port, and do you have software controlling the motors? Maybe you're getting interference?

    With my Xylotex, i hooked up 1 motor, and used TurboCNC to try it out. When not spinning, it was silent. When spinning, it sounded like a normal small electic motor. A quiet whine which grew in intensity to a high pitched scream at high speeds It was very smooth, too. You want to keep it at 1/8 step, It should run smoother at that setting.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    500
    When I'm not plugged into the parallel port and the motors are on, they sound sort of like a fuzzy tv and vibrate a little. I have changed it from 1/8 to Full step. So, in 1/8 step mode what should the steps per rev be? 8*200 = 1600 steps per rev? So in the new TCNC in the scale parameters in the axes setup it asks what the steps per rev would be. Then it asks for microsteps. Do I put 1600 steps per rev and 8 in microsteps settings?
    Thanks.

  16. #16
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35442
    200 for steps per rev. 8 for microsteps. then the number of turns per inch for your leadscrews.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  17. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    500
    Ok. Thanks. Woah, when I have 8 microsteps on, it goes from 200 in/min to about 25in./min. I think that I might just keep it at full step. For the hz. of the motors, I seem to only get about 500hz max, untill the motors don't work properly. Do I need to change the pulsewidth or anything to improve this, or is this a normal motor hz.
    Thanks.

  18. #18
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35442
    Set the pulsewidth to around 2 or 3.

    Do you have these connected to a machine?

    Are you using 24V? What kind of motors are they? Are they round? or the square type?
    What leadscrew (turns per inch)?

    Do you mean 500 rpm?
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    500
    1) I'll set the pulsewidth to 2 or 3. Can you explain what the pulsewidth is and why around 2 to 3. Is it just because that's what the Xylotex board takes?
    2) No they are not connected to a machine.
    3) Yes 24 Volts at 4.8 Amps. (It says something like rectifier on the power supply) .
    4) They are Vexta 150 oz-in 1.8 degree round motors.
    5) We are using 12 thread per inch all thread.
    5) No, in the Turbo CNC software we can set a max of about 500 hz for the max hz setting in the configuration. If anymore, the motors sound like they are spinning out.
    Thanks.

  20. #20
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35442
    The pulsewidth is how long the step pulse lasts in microseconds. Jeff at Xylotex recommends 2.

    You're saying you have Max speed set to 500? You should be able to set it way higher if the motor isn't connected to anything.

    What are your start speed and acceleration settings?

    How are you making the motors spin? Jogging? or MDI mode?
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Rover CNC machines & ProEngineer
    By Speling in forum CNC Machining Centers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-17-2008, 02:36 AM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-06-2007, 03:29 PM
  3. installing compound angled holes on 3 axis machines
    By krustykrab in forum Hard / High Speed Machining
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-14-2007, 02:46 AM
  4. Pics of our machines.
    By Fozzy in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-13-2005, 05:41 AM
  5. Stepper motor sounds and clicking
    By Sanghera in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-07-2004, 06:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •