548,477 active members*
2,922 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1680

    Spindle rpm fluctuating

    I noticed that my spindle rpm has been fluctuating a 100 or so rpm in manual mode at various settings, curious as to why its doing this? I havent noticed it when running a program, it may be doing it there too.

    Im sure this problem has come up before but the search function isnt bringing anything up.

    thanks in advance for any insight on this..........
    mike sr

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    475
    Likely that the speed control poteniometer windings are dirty. A spritz of contact cleaner inside the back case while turning the knob may set it right.

    Quote Originally Posted by popspipes View Post
    I noticed that my spindle rpm has been fluctuating a 100 or so rpm in manual mode at various settings, curious as to why its doing this? I havent noticed it when running a program, it may be doing it there too.

    Im sure this problem has come up before but the search function isnt bringing anything up.

    thanks in advance for any insight on this..........

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13132

    Re: Spindle rpm fluctuating

    Quote Originally Posted by popspipes View Post
    I noticed that my spindle rpm has been fluctuating a 100 or so rpm in manual mode at various settings, curious as to why its doing this? I havent noticed it when running a program, it may be doing it there too.

    Im sure this problem has come up before but the search function isnt bringing anything up.

    thanks in advance for any insight on this..........
    This is normally caused by your 240v power supply or incorrect parameters set.
    Mactec54

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1680

    Re: Spindle rpm fluctuating

    Thanks for the replies.

    I will try the contact cleaner thanks.
    mike sr

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    187

    Re: Spindle rpm fluctuating

    Let me know how you make out. Mine has been doing this as well. Only noticed it after the most recent update but haven't gotten around to downgrading yet to see if the problem still exists. And I don't have an adjustment pot to clean so that's not an option for me.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1680

    Re: Spindle rpm fluctuating

    Quote Originally Posted by soofle616 View Post
    Let me know how you make out. Mine has been doing this as well. Only noticed it after the most recent update but haven't gotten around to downgrading yet to see if the problem still exists. And I don't have an adjustment pot to clean so that's not an option for me.
    As near as I can tell its just a dirty pot, I ran the pot back and forth a few times and it seems to be better, I just need to get a can of contact cleaner and clean it up properly.
    mike sr

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13132

    Re: Spindle rpm fluctuating

    Quote Originally Posted by popspipes View Post
    As near as I can tell its just a dirty pot, I ran the pot back and forth a few times and it seems to be better, I just need to get a can of contact cleaner and clean it up properly.
    Might be hard to get the contact cleaner to go inside the pot, to do any good, they are just a carbon pot, so this will happen until it won't work any more, you can add a remote wire wound pot to the remote control terminals then you would not need the VFD Drive Pot
    Mactec54

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1680

    Re: Spindle rpm fluctuating

    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    Might be hard to get the contact cleaner to go inside the pot, to do any good, they are just a carbon pot, so this will happen until it won't work any more, you can add a remote wire wound pot to the remote control terminals then you would not need the VFD Drive Pot
    It is a carbon pot, not a big deal as it only varies slightly in manual mode, havent noticed it when running a program.
    mike sr

Similar Threads

  1. Haas Vf2 8100-rpm or 10,000-rpm Spindle
    By SuperTico in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-13-2019, 06:25 PM
  2. wildly fluctuating spindle rpm on crt
    By howd in forum Okuma
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-05-2013, 07:47 PM
  3. G0704 Fluctuating spindle speed
    By prcdslnc13 in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-23-2012, 11:11 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-15-2010, 07:10 PM
  5. Bridgeport spindle RPM calculation for non-standard motor RPM?
    By PhoenixMetal in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-18-2010, 09:13 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •