587,758 active members*
2,969 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Starting to build my first CNC router
Page 1 of 2 12

Starting to build my first CNC router

I have decided "to take the plung" haha and build my own router table. And have some ummm.... Lots of questions. I will give you a bit of background and what I would like the machine to do. I am a PLC automation programmer/designer in the industrial field and been around control systems for a few years. So electronics and building stuff is what I do for a living so Im not totally blind going into this. I have just learned over time most things are possible just do some research before you start. I have almost "3 times" now purchased the v90 from probotix but just have been turned off buy the material it is made of and doesnt meet the size I want.

I want to use this machine to mainly cut out foam for inside gun cases, camera cases, etc. But dont want to be limited to just that. Wood, plastics
    and other stuff would be nice (mainly for gun grips for shooting range buddies).This will be just a start into a business for me NOT going to quit my day job anytime soon but want to look towards the future maybe move up later to a plasma table.

I do have access to a few machine shops that I can have my parts cut with either water jet or laser. So the precision cut parts are not an issue. I can draw and have access to autocad at work and am learning to draw in 3d as I go. I have used an older zenotech engraving machine at work for years converting tags in cad for control panels to the "old dinosaur" and cutting them out but it just is not big enough to do what I want to do.

So here I go with the loads of questions.

Heres what I had in mind for motors and drives.
    Can I do better for the price

Kit Includes:$359
    3x ProboStep VX Uni-Polar Stepper Motor Driver
    2x HT23-280-8 280ozin Stepper Motor (X- & Y-Axis)