540,744 active members*
8,220 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Stepperzoneline closed loop wiring
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    12

    Stepperzoneline closed loop wiring

    Hi chaps. I am a complete fool when it comes to wiring. I purchased a stepperzoneline closed loop motor and driver. And I can’t get it to work. I have tried contacting the company for help with know joy. So can anyone point me in the right direction. So far I have done this.
    From my smooth stepper a CS-LABS MiSO-10, I have wired in the PU+. PU- , DR+, DR-. I have no idea what to do with the MF+. MF- ALM+. ALM- points at all. I know I have wired in the encoder correctly. And that leaves the last block of connections. To the motor A+ black, A- green, B+ blue, B- black. V+ is 24volts live, V- is ground. The motor does nothing. Can anyone who knows this system please help out. Thanks. The motor is a NEMA 23

  2. #2
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35454

    Re: Stepperzoneline closed loop wiring

    A model number or link to a manual would be helpful.
    I think the MA might be an enable, but I'd expect it to be enabled by default.
    Does the motor lock up when you power the drive?
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    12

    Re: Stepperzoneline closed loop wiring

    Hi, thanks for getting back. The motor does lock up when I switch on. The motor controller is stepperzoneline Y series CL57Y. Could it be the micro step pins incorrect. The motor is the NEMA 23 1.8 nm. Thanks. Hope you can find answer

  4. #4
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35454

    Re: Stepperzoneline closed loop wiring

    If the motor locks up, the drive is working, and the problem is likely either in the wiring for the step/dir inputs, or a software setup issue.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    241

    Re: Stepperzoneline closed loop wiring

    I know the system. Your driver will have a red light (LED) that will be flashing if there is a problem. If you download your driver data sheet, count the number of flashes. It will point to your problem. Ie, 7 = encoder problem.

    Tell you what though, every single wire needs to be correct. Just one wrong, (and that will make 2) wrong and no go. Be methodical. Make absolutely sure each one is perfect. Check they are not shorting. Then take a picture if you can. You don't need to use the alarm just to make them go.

    Sent from my SM-N970F using Tapatalk

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    12

    Re: Stepperzoneline closed loop wiring

    Hi. Today I rechecked the wiring. I have a green led light on when the power is switched on. And the motor locks up. However I have no red light showing and no movement of the motor. I have ordered some new wiring to go between the smooth stepper and the motor driver. But I don’t believe this is the problem. I have not moved any of the microstep switches as I don’t know which ones to turn on or keep on. All very odd.

  7. #7
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35454

    Re: Stepperzoneline closed loop wiring

    Sounds like a software setup issue.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    12

    Re: Stepperzoneline closed loop wiring

    Hi, ger21, can you please explain a bit more.

  9. #9
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35454

    Re: Stepperzoneline closed loop wiring

    Are you using Mach3 or Mach4? Do you have all the settings in that correct, as well as all the required settings in the ESS plugin?
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    12

    Re: Stepperzoneline closed loop wiring

    Hi ger21. I am using mach3. I have not touched the settings in the program as it all worked ok before. The only plug in I used is for the smooth stepper. The other two axis work ok, and they are the original none closed loop type, it’s only the closed loop motor not working.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    12

    Re: Stepperzoneline closed loop wiring

    Just an update, I got the motor turning, but it only turns on one direction.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    12

    Re: Stepperzoneline closed loop wiring

    Sorted For some reason a wire had come loose from the smooth stepper block.

Similar Threads

  1. UB1 and stepperonline closed loop driver wiring
    By torcher in forum UCCNC Control Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-15-2021, 01:57 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2018, 05:19 AM
  3. Closing the loop with Path Pilot. Possibly dual (global) closed loop?
    By SwampDonkey in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 05-04-2016, 09:39 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-13-2012, 11:15 PM
  5. Closed Loop Driver vs. Closed Loop Computer
    By ojibberish in forum Gecko Drives
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-08-2004, 05:30 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •