588,033 active members*
5,248 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > EdgeCam > Subprograms Subroutines Help

Subprograms Subroutines Help

I have a series of 20 pockets, all the same, and need to have a one subprogram to machine the pockets. So in my main program, it will move to the pocket location in absolute then go into a subprogram and machine the pocket in incremental mode. Otherwise the program ends up being 10,000 lines long! How do I go about doing this? I am going off of a solid. Please Help. Thank You

Dont trust my guide becuse i am only a Newb but it may help.
    but quessing you could use a M98 p###### ( subprogram number )
    So im quess it would look something like this
    %

G0 G40 G80 G90 G21;

T# M6;
    G0 G54 G90 X#. Y#. S#### M3 ;
    G43 H# Z#. M8 ;
    G1 G41 D1 F### X#. Y#. ;
    M98 PO#### ; <<<<<<< ( PROGAM NUMBER )
    X#. Y#. ; <<<<<<<( THE NEXT ABSOLUTE POSTION)
    M98 PO#### ;
    X#. Y#. ;
    M98 PO### ;
    X#. Y#. ;
    G0 G53 Y0. Z0. ;
    M30 ;
    %

;
    O##### (subprogramm);

G1 Z-#.;
    G91 X# Y#;
    X# Y#;
    X# Y#;
    Z 5.;
    G90 G40 X#. Y#.;
    M99;

thats just my input may be completly wrong but its filled 5 minets of my life so its a good escape from boredom

subroutine subprogram

I needed to be a little clearer in my post. Yes, that is the format I am looking for, but I want edgecam do it. And I need help on what steps to take to do this, to post a program with an incremental subprogram to machine the similar pockets. So, what I am saying is, in a roughing cycle, what do I need to make edgecam post it this way? Do I need to change in my post processor setting, I'm just not sure how to get it to post that way. I have a plate that has 20 pockets all the same shape, equally spaced. I am using a endmill to rough out the pocket then go back with a different tool to finish the parameter.

ROUGH EXAMPLE

O1000 ( MAIN )
    T1 M6 ( 1/2 CARB EM )