504,500 active members
3,514 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 12 of 16
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    13

    Supermax YCM-30 retrofit

    Happy St Pat's all! I have a few questions about a Supermax mill. A family member who owns a job shop has 2 YCM-30's coming up for sale. The shop purchased them 2 years ago from an industrial college for a reasonable price. They are equipped with Allen Bradley Bandit IV controllers which are functioning. The mills aren't going to work out for them as they don't have tool changers.

    He offered one to me for what he has into it-$3700.00. They both have Bt-30 spindles and come with Erickson collets and chucks, endmill holders and shell mill arbors. Wondering if that is a reasonable price for them machine.

    My plan would be to strip the controller off, retain the Baldor DC servos and upgrade to Centroid All in one D.C. Control. A concern I have is unless I can sell the old control for parts I'm going to have about $6600 invested in a refitted Series 1 knee mill. I see functioning Hurco Hawks going anywhere from $4000 to $7500 which have Cat 40 spindles and more mass. Looking for opinions.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2

    Re: Supermax YCM-30 retrofit

    The price seems reasonable, maybe a bit on the high end of the range, if the machine is in good mechanical condition. I would continue running the Bandit control until it dies. Make some money with the machine then use some of the profit to upgrade the machine later. When I bought my machine, I ran it with the antique Anilam control and paid for the upgrade with one job.

    The tool holders have some value, they are not cheap.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    13

    Supermax YCM-30 retrofit

    Thank you Jim. I looked at the ways which are in very good shape although they are ground and have no flaking. It looks like it was built that way.

    They are using the mills now but ran into issue trying to post. The AB controller uses a parallel port or a serial port (don't remember which) which is no longer supported by Windows 7 or newer so he can't use current software to load code generated by BobCad or Inventor HSM etc. Unless I could use a Win XP computer with Inventor 6 that I have but still wouldn't have Cam that would post. That would be my issue as well. I am not interested in loading complex code by MDI as the last time I programmed a machine was 20 years ago on a Fanuc EDM. I'm not sure how useful the mill would be in its current state unless I could figure out a way to post to it.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4

    Re: Supermax YCM-30 retrofit

    Does that machine have the hand wheels on it? If so, I would be all over it. I understand the issues with the post and communications. What one of my customer's did was have an intermediate computer that translated the communications for a antique Fanuc controller. That way they could develop the parts on a modern computer. AutoDesk is pretty responsive in developing new posts for their software, they did a special for me for their Fusion 360/HSM.

    Another option for controller software is mine. I give it away for free.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    13

    Re: Supermax YCM-30 retrofit

    It doesn't have hand wheels per se, it has knurled knobs on both x and y. The moron photographer took a couple useless pic- gonna have to fire that guy! Hope this gives an idea of the vintage.

    HSM has contacted me about a post, however I haven't gotten back to them as this isn't my machine and my brother in law can't rely on my computer when I can't be there regularly. If I decide to go ahead with purchase I would talk to Autodesk and see if there would be a solution until I could upgrade control.

    Going to try and talk to old employer who uses current Hurco VMCs and see if his dealer has a decent used Hawk for sale. When I worked there they had a Hawk as well as the VMCs. He sold the Hawk a few years ago, don't know for what price but was a useful machine. The Hawks seem to be more robust and if the Ultimax software is functioning the mill would be useful as soon as it's powered up. Man I hate forks in the road!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6

    Re: Supermax YCM-30 retrofit

    Sounds like you have it under control. Decisions decisions

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by MillNut View Post
    Happy St Pat's all! I have a few questions about a Supermax mill. A family member who owns a job shop has 2 YCM-30's coming up for sale. The shop purchased them 2 years ago from an industrial college for a reasonable price. They are equipped with Allen Bradley Bandit IV controllers which are functioning. The mills aren't going to work out for them as they don't have tool changers.

    He offered one to me for what he has into it-$3700.00. They both have Bt-30 spindles and come with Erickson collets and chucks, endmill holders and shell mill arbors. Wondering if that is a reasonable price for them machine.

    My plan would be to strip the controller off, retain the Baldor DC servos and upgrade to Centroid All in one D.C. Control. A concern I have is unless I can sell the old control for parts I'm going to have about $6600 invested in a refitted Series 1 knee mill. I see functioning Hurco Hawks going anywhere from $4000 to $7500 which have Cat 40 spindles and more mass. Looking for opinions.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I can help you get them up and going. I've got mine working with Fusion 360. I've been documenting my progress although I'm much further ahead of this on a website I started. www.thisoldmill.com

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    13

    Re: Supermax YCM-30 retrofit

    Thank you KSU! Just checked out your site. When I get home I will download the Fusion Post and take a look at it. If I go forward and purchase the mill the biggest hurdle will be setting up communication between old hardware and Win7/Inventor. I plan on using a vfd for spindle power as my current Bridgeport uses an ABB vfd. Your site gives a nice explanation of the vfd conversion.

    Jim, I thank you for pointing out how expensive the NTMB 30 tooling is!! All totaled my BRo in law is including over a $1000 in tooling!! This makes the potential purchase of the YCM more enticing! After doing more research I decided the Hurco plan isn't for me, especially since I would need to purchase Qwik Switch or Cat 40 tooling.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    9

    Re: Supermax YCM-30 retrofit

    Quote Originally Posted by MillNut View Post
    Thank you KSU! Just checked out your site. When I get home I will download the Fusion Post and take a look at it. If I go forward and purchase the mill the biggest hurdle will be setting up communication between old hardware and Win7/Inventor. I plan on using a vfd for spindle power as my current Bridgeport uses an ABB vfd. Your site gives a nice explanation of the vfd conversion.

    Jim, I thank you for pointing out how expensive the NTMB 30 tooling is!! All totaled my BRo in law is including over a $1000 in tooling!! This makes the potential purchase of the YCM more enticing! After doing more research I decided the Hurco plan isn't for me, especially since I would need to purchase Qwik Switch or Cat 40 tooling.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    You're welcome... The whole time I was figuring out how to get my YCM-30 up and running I just kept thinking 'wow, there are a lot of steps here', maybe I should document some of this so others won't struggle as much as I did. Additionally, there wasn't a lot of documentation readily available, so after I scraped up the user, install, and pal guides I absolutely made sure they could be downloaded from my site. My biggest problem is how to get others to find all this data.

    Hold off on downloading the post, I have an updated version to get on there. The one up there now has some issues with helix/arcs.

    -Mike

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    13

    Supermax YCM-30 retrofit

    I am assuming since you are using Fusion 360 your Cad/Cam computer is running Win 7 or 10? How are you posting the code to the Bandit? Brother in law wasn't able to use a Win 7 computer to post from BobCad to Bandit. I don't know if he tried a USB to parallel adaptor. Support staff at BobCad told him Win 7 won't support parallel port transfer. I have Inventor 2014 with HSM Works on a Win 7 laptop. USB or Ethernet output. Can put a PmCIA card in the laptop if PMCIA supports a parallel port.

    Paul.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    9

    Re: Supermax YCM-30 retrofit

    Quote Originally Posted by MillNut View Post
    I am assuming since you are using Fusion 360 your Cad/Cam computer is running Win 7 or 10? How are you posting the code to the Bandit? Brother in law wasn't able to use a Win 7 computer to post from BobCad to Bandit. I don't know if he tried a USB to parallel adaptor. Support staff at BobCad told him Win 7 won't support parallel port transfer. I have Inventor 2014 with HSM Works on a Win 7 laptop. USB or Ethernet output. Can put a PmCIA card in the laptop if PMCIA supports a parallel port.

    Paul.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Paul,

    I really need to get more on my website related to this end of things.

    So I'm using a brand new laptop (win 10) to do all my CAD and CAM work, which does not have a serial or parallel port. Serial and parallel ports are a thing of the past sadly...

    I have another old PC (win 7) connected to the AB 8400MP / Bandit because it has a serial port. Notice I said serial port, my old PC didn't have a parallel port...and a parallel port isn't need either. However, if you use a serial port like I did, you'll have to make or buy a serial to parallel connector cable - which isn't a big deal, and I can help with that too. I have no idea if a USB to serial/parallel device will work with the AB 8400MP / Bandit or not, some old devices are cranky about working with them I'm told.

    Since my new laptop and old PC are on the same local network at my house, I just dump the G code out on the network, and pick it up on the old PC to do the transferring to the AB 8400MP / Bandit.

    To transfer the G code from the old PC to the AB 8400MP / Bandit I'm using DNC software : dead easy to use : RS232 transfer between CNC and PC. I've found its pretty much necessary to use DNC or drip feed the old AB 8400MP / Bandit, because it doesn't have enough memory to transfer much of a program over completely. The DNC software I'm using helps with some other issues too, the AB 8400MP / Bandit can communicate at a max baud rate of 9600. It also turns out you need some character delay as well for the transfer to work without issue, and the DNC software helps with this.

    I'm happy to help my friend, we'll get you up and going.

    -Mike

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    13

    Re: Supermax YCM-30 retrofit

    Thank you Mike. After I posted question I started looking up parallel to USB connectors. I'm not a super electronics geek from the old days- I know many of them though. I usually stumble my way through this computer/electronic stuff. This retrofit/get old machine up and running stuff isn't my forte but I fight through it because I don't have a big budget and I love the pain of learning something new.

    That said, I do have a Toshiba T4600 that may have a serial port can't remember. If it doesn't then I can scrap together an old pc with a serial port to communicate with the Bandit. I will look up the DNC software to get idea of that process.

    I see what you mean about code file size. I did a test HSM part and posted the code. Holy Crap! Didn't realize how much data is generated! When I programmed a Fanc Wire EDM 20 years ago I don't remember code being that big!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. RETROFIT CONTROL & RETROFIT PROJECTS WITH NCT CNC SYSTEM
    By NCT201 in forum Machinery Manuals / Brochures
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-26-2016, 11:24 AM
  2. Supermax YCM-16VS Re-retrofit/Upgrade
    By macona in forum Vertical Mill, Lathe Project Log
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12-04-2011, 01:29 AM
  3. EMC2 Fallowing errors, Supermax/Anilam retrofit
    By jvanatta in forum LinuxCNC (formerly EMC2)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-13-2009, 06:18 PM
  4. Replies: 31
    Last Post: 11-27-2008, 06:55 AM
  5. Supermax manual mill re-retrofit
    By macona in forum Knee Vertical Mills
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-07-2006, 03:16 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •