588,204 active members*
3,738 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > SX3 convert ..Tapping with mach 3 possible

SX3 convert ..Tapping with mach 3 possible

Hey to all .. Im new here and want to say this site is full of great information and just glad to be here. I just started building the SX3 conversion and im pretty new at this so would like to know if anybody out there is able to use a tapping feature with this conversion??
    Im using the g540, Mach 3 and the cnc fusion #4 kit with helicals. thanks

Welcome Vatorman,
    I have an SX3 conversion, If I am correct rigid tapping is NOT possible with the stock motor/speed control set-up under mach control
    BUT I believe that if you were to convert over to a 3ph motor/ sensorless vector drive and add an index pulse card you can, I might be wrong, there is plenty of people on here smarter than I am in this respect so hopefully someone will chime in and give an educated response

I converted over but have not really given rigid tapping any thought
    here is a link to my build http://www.cnczone.com/forums/bencht...eady_go-4.html
    most of the spindle info is on page 2 including pics of the motor mount assembly
    I think I still have all of the dxf's for it so if you need them let me know
    good luck and keep us informed of your progress, again welcome to the zone

JTCUSTOMS

one thing I didnt really think of is you could use the stock motor set-up and cnc control for precision positioning and then just use the tapping feature that the SX3 has and just unlock the quill tap your hole, use cnc to position the next hole, tap etc.. etc..
    I dont know if I would trust it for blind hole tapping though

JTCUSTOMS

Thanks for the ideas Im stil no quite at that point yet, Just trying to think an advance before I tackle that part of the conversion.