587,370 active members*
3,106 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question Taig CNC motor details

Howdy,

Bare with me, total noob, still learing correct terminology!

Would some kind soul post its data plate for the cnc versions upgraded spindle motor or enough info to find a spec sheet on the net. Or just its rpm, shaft diameter, how its mounted, anything i might need to know to replace it?

I have a cnc 2019cr on its way to australia and hoping to find a motor to work on our 240v 50hz power =)

While im at it, is 1/4 hp generally enough? would 1/2 or more be overkill? how much slower/faster rpm might i be able to go

Already considered a setup transformer but the frequency differance will be detrimental to speed/heat

Thx!

don't have the specs in front of me, but the motor size and shaft is a very standard compressor/commercial/farm duty type thing. common as dirt and cheap as chips. should be an extremely easy find for a replacement.

you can go with more horsepower no problem, though you may or may not need it. you can't go much faster though, as the spindle bearings are what limit that system to a bit over 10k rpm, not the motor.

there are other options people have done in the past, especially to add speed control. using a dc motor and speed controller salvaged from a treadmill is one old trick if you are the electronics type.

just remember it adds weight to an already heavy z axis, so don't add more than you need. i actually went the other way and added a lighter motor myself, one with very little if any additional power, which acted to increase my travel speeds for machining in light materials. your usage may vary, especially if you are planning on hogging through serious materials.

if you already are looking to spring for a new motor, you might want to look into simply ordering a 0.8kw or 1.5kw chinese water cooled spindle, and locally source a small vfd to run it. they are stupidly cheap now.