588,189 active members*
4,306 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

taking the plunge............

well i officially started tonight. after extensive research and checks to see what i had onhand.....my plasma table is underway......

first a bit of background on myself. married 32 yr old from tupelo, ms. tool and die graduate in 1996. recently returned to school to take electrical tech. and possibly industrial maintenance as well. i've been working as a maintenance/machinist for the past 10 years and compter and machines gets me going.......even more when you put the two together.........

here's my virgin build............

i'm thinking a 5X6 for the reason of having a FULL 4X4 workable area. i know that a workable area of 4X8 is more consistant with full size sheet metal BUT i'm kinda cramped for floor space and i figure since our local steel supplier will shear the metal at no additional cost...........why not???

i've got the frame of the table completed and i'm going to install legs and ways next. if i can find my cad program i'll get some prints posted ........... if not you'll just have to wait for pics when i get the thing home.

i found these http://web1.automationdirect.com/adc.../STP-MTR-34066 and figured they would work fine for a home system without a TON of weight.

can't decide if i want to buy stock drivers or take the plunge with pc boards and components and build the drivers myself......still have to decide that.

retired dell pc that i plan on using as the pc controller.......the pc i'm on now with bare the remainder of the load of drawing, programming, etc. the dell will do nothing but control the machine.

i have a copy of autocad 2000 but i'm not sure if i want to use it or not......suggestions???

i think that pretty much covers it.......

anyone got any links to controllers that will run the above motors??? LOL

hope to hear lots of feedback as this is my first cnc machine build.