554,071 active members*
3,913 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    989

    Tool Load Management

    Want to take advantage of Doosan's TLM. Watched a video. Seems pretty easy, but the video didn't answer a few of my questions.

    1: Approach and Escape time...is it set automatically or do I have to put some numbers in? If I have to put numbers in, how do I get the times to put in? A stopwatch? How accurate do I have to be?

    2. Number of tools to input...is it necessary? If I understand it correctly, the control monitors each of the tools used. So if I use the arrow keys to cursor through the tools, would it only show those tools I used?

    3. Regarding tools, say I use T0505 on the main spindle, and T0535 on the rear spindle in a double holder. Both tools are called up with T0500, but use different GEOM and offsets. Does the control show them as T5 and T35 on the TLM page? This goes back to question #2. In the video the guy input 12 tools and using the arrow keys all 12 tools are shown. In my example (T0535) would I need to input 35 tools (if that was the largest tool number used)?

    4. This is where personal experience comes into play. Does anyone use a baseline for different type tools? Video showed 5% for a warning and 10% to give an alarm.

    So we were cross drilling (2 holes, 180 degrees apart) with a 3/64 inch (.0469) carbide circuit board drill in 52100. Actual cutting depth was quite shallow. No center drill used. Very slow feedrate to get the drill started before kicking the feedrate up (a little sarcasm here). O.D. has a radius groove in the center of the part, and this is where the cross drill goes. First drill lasted 8 hours or more. Problems after that. Sometimes the drill didn't run half an hour before breaking. This is on a barfeed, and the operator did not stand there watching just the one lathe. Needless to say we had quite a few parts with no cross holes.

    So.....with this small of a drill the load is going to be extremely low. Would the Rapid moves to and from the part have an effect on the TML if no Approach or Escape times were entered?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    989

    Re: Tool Load Management

    Sorry. TML should say TLM. Don't see how to edit my original post.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-01-2021, 08:46 AM
  2. Tool Management in HSMAdvisor Tool Database
    By zero_divide in forum News Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-07-2015, 06:01 AM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-27-2015, 10:04 PM
  4. tool management
    By gucki in forum SolidCAM for SolidWorks and SolidCAM for Inventor
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-29-2012, 02:05 PM
  5. Renishaw tool offset / break probe and tool life management
    By mcash3000 in forum General CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-21-2010, 04:14 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •