587,711 active members*
3,702 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Tools / Tooling Technology > CNC Tooling > Tooling for Getting a nice finish in Wax

Tooling for Getting a nice finish in Wax

Seeing as I'm waiting for some mill parts to come still, I have been exploring my stock options. I will be using a cncfusion converted grizzly "x3" mill - with the ballscrew upgrade.

As a noob, I would like to start out with some material with minimal danger to me, my machine, and of course my tooling.

As the same as beginners anywhere - I would also like a nice finish. Does anybody know what tooling, and feeds I would need to get a very nice finish on wax?

I plan to make wax molds - which I would use to cast FDA approved silicone - for making cool ice cubes and the sort - WITHOUT/Minimal tooling marks

I appreciate any ideas or input!

Just ask to Chris on this thread from Mach3 support site

http://www.machsupport.com/forum/ind...c,11446.0.html

Jeff

There really isn't any "one size fits all" solution

It really depends on the level of detail in your parts, the type of tool, the capability of your machine, and the depth of cut you're taking. In general, the finer the detail, the smaller the cutter you'll need. If you're using ballnose endmills, you're essentially trying to make flat surfaces with round tools, so the smaller the cutter diameter, the finer the step-overs have to be to avoid seeing toolmarks where the cuts lie next to each other.