552,801 active members*
2,015 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > PlanetCNC > Toolpath not machining correct @ points (doing arcs instead)
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    Toolpath not machining correct @ points (doing arcs instead)

    Hello everyone,
    I have just installed the latest Planetcnc TNG V2 software onto my computer and inputted the settings as best I can. I have a small issue though, I was just machining some text and where you have a point for example the middle of a v, instead of machining a nice point it is doing a rounded edge. I think it may have something to di with acceleration? also when it goes to machine round a corner for example the curve on a d or a c it seems to stop start stop start .

    any help would be most appreciated

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1026

    Re: Toolpath not machining correct @ points (doing arcs instead)

    Check "Blend" settings and G61 and G64 g-codes

  3. #3

    Re: Toolpath not machining correct @ points (doing arcs instead)

    I will have a look, any recomendations as to what it should be set at? also while your on, for some reason when I type z10 to move the z axis, sometimes it moves in a diagonal motion with the z axis slowly moving, it will do this until it hits a limit switch??

  4. #4

    Re: Toolpath not machining correct @ points (doing arcs instead)

    it has to be said this new version is garbage, its destroying piece after piece after piece and costing a fortune. How do I revert back to the old version which actually worked?

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1026

    Re: Toolpath not machining correct @ points (doing arcs instead)

    Please export your profile and send me .zip file. I'll try to reproduce this Z10 issue.

  6. #6

    Re: Toolpath not machining correct @ points (doing arcs instead)

    Quote Originally Posted by PlanetCNC View Post
    Please export your profile and send me .zip file. I'll try to reproduce this Z10 issue.
    I will do now, apologies for my last post, im just frustrated as its 10:45pm here and im wasting valuable material mainly because im struggling with my lack of knowledge. Im sure this software is fine and its no excuse for me to be a stroppy sod. Will go and save the profile on my usb stick and send it now mate. Thanks

  7. #7

    Re: Toolpath not machining correct @ points (doing arcs instead)

    Ive got the zip file but no idea how to get it across to you mate

  8. #8

    Re: Toolpath not machining correct @ points (doing arcs instead)

    think ive sussed it
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    1405

    Re: Toolpath not machining correct @ points (doing arcs instead)

    Updates, pffffft.
    If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

    Supposed to get better, not worse with releases.
    Been put off planet cnc (as have many) for life. Which is a shame really as the controller with ethernet looks the part.

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1026

    Re: Toolpath not machining correct @ points (doing arcs instead)

    I ran tests with your profile and everything ran good. I see that you already set blending values to zero.
    What exactly do you do to get this slow diagonal move?

    I also noticed that your computer does not meet minimal requirements. 4 logical cores are a must for smooth operation.

  11. #11

    Re: Toolpath not machining correct @ points (doing arcs instead)

    I may have been hasty (which I hope) but I'm machining some carbon fibre, I did a z axis measure, double checked it by moving it to 1mm above the material, then started the program and then wallop, goes about 2mm into the material ruining it. I went through about £80 of material last night and I cannot re-use it. I only undated as I thought it would have some safety & security improvements as its software

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-03-2016, 01:30 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-01-2012, 01:35 PM
  3. points to lines/arcs
    By vmax549 in forum Autodesk
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-14-2008, 02:05 PM
  4. ramped arcs are linear points no g2
    By dertsap in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-19-2008, 06:28 AM
  5. Points on arcs
    By gguidi in forum Autodesk
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-25-2006, 01:49 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •