550,247 active members*
2,869 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Tormach PCNC Series 3 Upgrade to Centroid's Acorn
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    4

    Cool Tormach PCNC Series 3 Upgrade to Centroid's Acorn

    I really want to have rigid tapping and conversational programming on my Tormach. I investigated upgrading to Mach4 or PathPilot. As I need to install an encoder for rigid tapping I was concerned about what would be involved to add an encoder to either of those options. Since I already got an Acorn running on my portable 5c collet lathe I figured I'd upgrade my Tormach to Acorn. Since this upgrade is rather involved, I am breaking it down into 3 phases.

    The first phase is to have basic CNC functionality, the second phase is to add the encoder, the third phase is to restore the operation of the spindle controls on the panel. The first phase only needs a little more work until it is finished. (i.e. Some macro scripting, spindle speed calibration, and testing.) I've also been documenting the changes and have them in an attached document. (I'll update the document as time goes on.) Of interest may be what pins are needed to adapt the Tormach/Leadshine stepper motor drivers to work with Acorn as the connection does not appear to be standard. (I later found information on the stepper motor driver connections in a newer version of the operator manual than what was sent with my machine.)

    I've attached the before and after pictures of the machine's electronics cabinet as well as the latest version of the conversion documentation.

    Rigid tapping looks like it will work but I haven't tested it yet in metal as I have the machine tied up with other work at the moment.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    59

    Re: Tormach PCNC Series 3 Upgrade to Centroid's Acorn

    Thanks for this information. I want to do exactly the same conversion on a PCNC 1100 but also add servos to xyz.Do you have any videos?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    5

    Re: Tormach PCNC Series 3 Upgrade to Centroid's Acorn

    Do you have any new information on you encoder application?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Do you have any new information on you encoder application?

  4. #4
    *Registered User*
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    83

    Re: Tormach PCNC Series 3 Upgrade to Centroid's Acorn

    Does acorn have more or better features than PathPilot?
    I think it would take a lot of tuning up to rigid tap on a Tormach.

    Dave

Similar Threads

  1. Tormach PCNC 1100 Series II
    By 0llie in forum Ebay Ads here
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-18-2019, 05:45 PM
  2. Tormach PCNC 1100 Series 3 er nå i hus!
    By agurkmedia in forum Norwegian
    Replies: 68
    Last Post: 11-27-2018, 02:22 PM
  3. Tormach PCNC 1100 Series 1
    By ConveyTrex in forum Ebay Ads here
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-14-2016, 01:19 PM
  4. Tormach PCNC 1100 Series 3
    By TormachCNCSale in forum Ebay Ads here
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-26-2016, 12:35 PM
  5. Bridgeport Series II with Ajax/Centroid upgrade for sale
    By thecosman in forum Ebay Ads here
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-28-2014, 08:53 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •