588,250 active members*
4,069 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Total newbie, where to start?

Total newbie, where to start?

I have available to me master cam x3, my employeer uses it and told me I could use it off the clock if I wanted to. I have a seig x3 that I am going to convert to cnc as soon as I can figure out how to make the parts I want to. I have toyed around on MC for a while now and am really getting nowhere. I work a different shift than the guy that uses it and he is "way too busy" to teach me. I am wondering if there is somewhere I can go to do a learn it myself approach or if there are any tutorials out there that are straight forward. Possibly this is not the right program for me too, I want to be able to easily design parts and have them acuratly translated to g-code, that parts are not terribly complex but it is better to have too much ability than not enough. Please help as I am lost.

This will cover everything you need to know from the introduction to the Mastercam system, to drawing and making toolpaths.

http://www.tipsforcadcam.com/product/TFM-CDIntroX3

Mike Mattera
    Tips For Manufacturing Training CD's, DVD's for Mastercam, SolidWorks, Inventor, G-Code Training & More
    http://www.tipsforcadcam.com

you might try the library for reference books. most states will do full state wide searches and stuff.
    i was in your position not to long ago and was only able to get started after going to a class. it is excellent software, but learning it without a jumping off point is going to be tough.

Along with "Mike Mattera's Videos" you can buy books from CNC Solutions. You can find them on the Emastercam Forum.

http://www.emastercam.com/resources/
    Toby D.
    "Imagination and Memory are but one thing, but for divers considerations have divers names"
    Schwarzwald

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)