547,048 active members*
2,277 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    3

    Totally newbie question.

    Hi. I'm totally new in G-Code, and maybe somebody can help me.

    I have a Ender-3 Pro 3D printer running Marlin 1.1.6.2 firmware. And I need to use it for a very simple task such as constanly moving Y axis couple of centimeters back and forth when it's turned on. Now I manage to do this with Terminal application by simply sending gcode commands to it. So my question is - maybe therese is a way to use some kind of macro to loop this process? Or even put a file on sdcard so the process would start when I turn on the printer?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    994

    Re: Totally newbie question.

    I know nothing about your specific machine but it is fairly normal for a CNC machine to move all axes a short distance back and forth when switched on to establish the machine's home position by means of a sensor.If it does it several times then you may have a problem,Have you tried seeking help from owners of similar machines?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    3

    Re: Totally newbie question.

    I'm just looking for general information about g-code, is possible to loop G1 Y2 G1 Y0 with macros.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    994

    Re: Totally newbie question.

    Quite possibly,but your code contains some unnecessary information-G1 is modal and only heeds to be there once and being modal,the F rate will carry over from the last instance.If I have ever needed to do this sort of thing I have called up a sub routing using the M98P command and L(number of instances) it can contain any feed rate you choose.Having run as many instances as desired it is cancelled by an M99.Being unfamiliar with your machine,I don't know if this might be a suitable option.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    3

    Re: Totally newbie question.

    Ok thanks, I'll try.. Maybe you can show me an example of a whole command?

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    994

    Re: Totally newbie question.

    First you need to determine whether your controller can interpret the command M98P.Is there anything in the manual?

Similar Threads

  1. A very newbie question
    By cancruiser in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-29-2014, 12:22 AM
  2. Another Newbie Question.
    By reeser in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-09-2012, 12:46 AM
  3. Newbie Question
    By Ched in forum Australia, New Zealand Club House
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-01-2012, 11:57 PM
  4. Total Newbie... totally lost!
    By SwarfEye in forum LinuxCNC (formerly EMC2)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-31-2009, 05:20 PM
  5. Totally new to this!
    By helenroskil in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-17-2008, 09:54 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •