537,752 active members*
2,606 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tree > Tree J325, Spindle Won't Start, Overloaded Error, Encoder Error on SD
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    8

    Tree J325, Spindle Won't Start, Overloaded Error, Encoder Error on SD

    I'm at a loss. I bought a J325 at a substantial premium because it was super clean and well set-up. Seemed like a great entry level machine for my new business. When I got it here, I got the spindle to run one single time, and then the spindle drive consistently gave me a -PG error (encoder signal) after about a 3 second pause whenever sending a start signal to the machine. (It's a Yaskawa 626MTIII). I hit cycle start, and a few seconds later, I get the big "CLUNK" and the controller shows "motor overloaded" fault, with spindle drive showing "-PG."

    I saw the price Yaskawa wants to service these drives, and it was massively prohibitive. I pulled the base drive and found a blown F1. Replaced it, along with some leaky capacitors on the base drive board. Buttoned the machine back up, and still getting -PG. I know the encoder is doing *something*, because if I spin it by hand after sending the signal start command I get a "spindle not up to speed" error.

    I'm at a loss at this point.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    51

    Re: Tree J325, Spindle Won't Start, Overloaded Error, Encoder Error on SD

    The -pg error is pulse generator. It is missing some component of the spindle motor encoder signal. The blown fuse can happen for too many max power surges because of the lost encoder signal (it will pulse max power to accelerate, see no feedback then stop... then it repeats this over and over)

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    8

    Re: Tree J325, Spindle Won't Start, Overloaded Error, Encoder Error on SD

    Quote Originally Posted by zpsbob View Post
    The -pg error is pulse generator. It is missing some component of the spindle motor encoder signal. The blown fuse can happen for too many max power surges because of the lost encoder signal (it will pulse max power to accelerate, see no feedback then stop... then it repeats this over and over)
    Bob, you're incredible. I got your email as well. What would you recommend I do for next steps?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    51

    Re: Tree J325, Spindle Won't Start, Overloaded Error, Encoder Error on SD

    Ideally, if you can get your hands on a scope that's the best way to check the encoder signal. Check the plug inside the electrical box on the spindle motor (power off of course) to verify it is making good contact. The encoder signal goes to plug CN3 on the spindle drive.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	encoder.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	67.0 KB 
ID:	456758

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    8

    Re: Tree J325, Spindle Won't Start, Overloaded Error, Encoder Error on SD

    Thank you bob. Guessing I'll have to pull the spindle motor to get to that, I'll check the connections and report back.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    8
    I just pulled the motor, all the connections were good, checked between motor side and CN3. Any guidance as to next steps would be super appreciated. Really want to get the girl running again.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-01-2014, 04:28 AM
  2. j325 error
    By spm in forum Tree
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-27-2013, 04:23 PM
  3. Help with error on j325
    By spm in forum Tree
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-13-2013, 02:52 AM
  4. Tree J325 Spindle Problem
    By Frisbee in forum Tree
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-29-2010, 08:18 PM
  5. Tree J325- First time start up-Help
    By J. Moran in forum Tree
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-10-2009, 03:54 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •