587,202 active members*
3,090 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

trying to make a die.

Hello,
    I have a question on how to proceed to machine a die approximately 1” round in some high carbon steel. I will anneal the metal first then harden and temper when I am done cutting.
    I am working on a cnc mill for this purpose. In the mean time I have gotten a 3d Pantograph/mill.
    It is a Deckel clone and weighs in at about 1500 lbs.
    I am trying to learn how to operate this pantograph.
    What I need to know is how to approach the milling of the steel having to do with speed, type of cutters etc.
    I read everything, but not being a machinist I don’t understand everything I read.
    The archives are not much help to me as I am just not getting it.
    BTW I will be using my 25 ton press to impress the die into .925 silver and some .999 silver, also brass i.e. all non Ferris metal.
    I am just a hobbiest trying to make cool stuff for my family and friends.

I have tried to ask this question before, but my lack of communication skills have stood in the way of getting the type of answer that was helpful to me.
    I hope this post is concise and to the point.

Thank you all in advance of the answer to these questions, :wave:
    Doug

trying to make a die.

Dougotio, Making coining dies is what I do and I would be happy to help you progress in this area. I have two panto-engravers and one cnc coining die engraver which I built myself. What type of pantomill do you have? I may have the instruction manual for it or know where to get one. What type and diameter cutters do you use. I may be able to sharpen up a couple cutters for you to get you started right. Concerning striking silver blanks, 25 tons seems a little light to do this. You may be able to make multiple strikes with annealing done between each strike. I'll post some answers when you respond.

Quote Originally Posted by diecutter