588,606 active members*
8,117 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Dmm Technology > UC100 versus the smooth stepper

UC100 versus the smooth stepper

I have set up my new lathe and i am considering a UC100 ,i have had some experience with the smooth stepper USB model and it was a disaster !

I gave it away for free to just get rid of it! does anyone have any experience with the UC 100 pro's con's?

(My main concern is spindle control ), i see that the UC100 allows for a encoder and multiple input pulses and my intention is to hook a rotary incremental encoder with a timing pulley to the spindle shaft for threading and accurate spindle speed control .

I am not sure what the new either net smooth stepper offers in this area as there documentation is awful as always and i am still smarting after the other model of this thing.

Have you thought about linuxcnc? You can get a pci mesa 5i25 for $89 that acts like 2 printer ports on steroids out of the box. (34 i/o) and is expandable with daughter cards. Does high speed encoder counting, Pwm, step generation and i/o.

You can use a normal multiline encoder with index (high line count too if you want) This allows for very smooth gearing of the axis to spindle. Things like..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pxXGN2SVrhU

or

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r7V57_7H9zw

anything i/o
    Mesa Electronics

LinuxCNC.org
    LinuxCNC Documentation Wiki: LinuxCNCKnowledgeBase

sam

samco

Nice job the the Linuxcnc & Mesa retrofit
    Mactec54

woffler

The U100 works great, but I have not tried what you want to do with it, the USB Smooth Stepper you had was Toast, I gave it to Greg but don't think it can be repaired
    Mactec54

UC100

Are you having good luck with the UC100? I want to try one with a Gecko G540 on a small Dyna benchtop mill.

Wink

I have purchased booth and i am running some comparisons ,.