552,799 active members*
1,094 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Auto Tool Changer > Using BT40 Without Drive Lugs
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    79

    Using BT40 Without Drive Lugs

    I have a 5 HP, 8000rpm spindle in my BT40 machine. I currently don't have my spindle orientation working yet. What do you think about light machining without the drive lugs so that I can use my toolchanger until I get the spindle orientation working?

  2. #2

    Re: Using BT40 Without Drive Lugs

    there isn't much other than a very slight amount of friction to prevent the holder from slipping in the taper , not worth the risk in my opinion .
    It's probably best to focus on getting your orientation corrected before running any cuts , or hand bomb your tools until you get things running properly

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    130

    Re: Using BT40 Without Drive Lugs

    Will it work? Sure. Plenty of 30 taper machines don't have drive dogs and HSK without drive dogs goes up to 63, I think.

    How light of a cut you need to take to not spin the tool no one can answer for you, though.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1257

    Re: Using BT40 Without Drive Lugs

    Quote Originally Posted by jlmccuan View Post
    I have a 5 HP, 8000rpm spindle in my BT40 machine. I currently don't have my spindle orientation working yet. What do you think about light machining without the drive lugs so that I can use my toolchanger until I get the spindle orientation working?
    ...No problem running keyless with light to medium machining. I have seen many machine 40 taper without the Keys.

    If, you would like some help figuring out why the machine Spindle Orient (M19) doesnt work..give us Make Model cnc you have 1st and want the machine is doing or not doing.

    DJ

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    79

    Re: Using BT40 Without Drive Lugs

    The spindle orientation not working is because I'm using a VFD and need to add a position indicator. I already have a profile set up in the VFD to run reversed at 30 rpm for tool height and diameter probing as well as hopefully spindle orientation once I get it installed.

Similar Threads

  1. Simple question on those cheap belt drive BT40 spindles
    By Greg9504 in forum Spindles / VFD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-20-2022, 09:38 PM
  2. BT30 or BT40 ?
    By kimhan in forum General MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-04-2019, 12:18 PM
  3. lugs on spindle ???
    By LEARN in forum Charter Oak Automation Support Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-16-2015, 02:05 PM
  4. Whats missing? Drive lugs
    By Jet A in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 11-09-2011, 10:42 PM
  5. Hydraulic crimping of cable lugs..
    By hotponyshoes in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-27-2008, 04:00 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •