587,828 active members*
2,911 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Hybrid View

Vacuum holding workpieces

so, im on the way to purchasing a gantry router specifically made for guitar milling.

im currently designing jigs for the neck of the first model. it takes 3 separate jigs which need to be clear on all sides of the work piece. this basically mans either tape or vacuum for holding.

id like to try vacuum fixtures. i can make them up easily enough. my issue is how big a pump do i need?

the fixtures will be "sealed", as in not drawing through a spoilboard or the like where the vacuum is leaking more than holding. the problem child i think is the neck laminates in profile. they have only 19 square inches of holding area, so about 190lbs give or take of holding pressure.

is that going to work? it "sounds" like it might be adequate, but i have no experience at all with vac fixtures. the fixture will have to hold 4 of these down at once on the active side of the machine, and 4 one the prep side. is there a formula for calculating how much power the pump will need to maintain pressure?

so many questions!!!! this is all much more complicated then my chisel. haha

Have you ever thought about creating the fixtures to incorporate hot glue to hold the piece in place. This would eliminate any distortion in the clamping. Just a thought.

Quote Originally Posted by dougtyler View Post
    Have you ever thought about creating the fixtures to incorporate hot glue to hold the piece in place. This would eliminate any distortion in the clamping. Just a thought.
    hadnt thought of hot glue. i dont think it would work here though. i need to mill the full perimeter of the peice, so there can be nothing on the sides. also i dont know if the glue is a good idea on expensive woods, does it soak into the grain at all like normal glue?