588,443 active members*
5,143 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 171 of 422 71121161169170171172173181221271
Results 3,401 to 3,420 of 8430
    Hi,
    By profession I am an electronic engineer and is into cnc for about a year and a half. Like others in the community I too have a passion for it. I am willing to share and learn from others.

Quote Originally Posted by PlayasTeo View Post
    Hi everyone....I am an amateur woodworker that would like to get into CNC routing , I am sure I can learn from you guys.
    Thank you
    Hi, there are a few thing you need to know before you start.
    1) Basic electronics (fortunately not very much is requires) to understand polarity (positive and negative, ground, neutral etc.
    2) Ability to solder parts (in some cases connecting wires to the limit switches, connecting wires etc)
    3) How to use a computer (I believe you have that skill, you made a post)
    4) Ability to use a multimeter (Digital or Analog)
    5) Use hand tools (Drill, screwdrivers, Measuring tape etc)
    6) Understand the pin-out of a computer ports
    7) Do you plan on using a desktop or laptop computer

Note: Having a CNC router or plasma is only one part, you would need a program to run it such as mach3 (last price from the official site was $175 US) and a program to generate G-codes cut files. There are several out there so do a search and count the cost before you start.

Before we get into the real building stuff you need to know what size of unit you need and how much you are willing to spend. Do you want it out of wood or metal?