587,704 active members*
3,559 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Exclamation Which one to BUY???

Torchmate 2 4'x4',Tracker Pro 4x4/or Nitro,EZ-ROUTER, PlasmaCam, DynaTorch.
    So this is crazy I am a new high school metals/welding teacher, and the school is brand new. They put a fume hood already in for a CNC table thats 4x4. Obviously its a school so funds are limited and price MAX would be $20k, and I think thats pushing it. What I want is comments on these machines cuz they all seem to be in my price range. I need the good the bad and the ugly on these so any help would be great. Oh and I have less than a month to get my proposal together.

Thanks

Just a suggestion, but being in a shop class is there any way you can have the students build your own? It would be less expensive plus give them all the skills they need to build there own some day.

EDD

Oh that sounds like a good idea, but i'm not I even know how to do that, and or what materials to get. I have some experience with both CNC and programing/electronic, but i dono if I have enough to take the students through the whole process.

dynatorch #1 but they dont make a 4x4 not listed anyways. Give them a call great people to deal with. If i had to make a second choice i would say torchmate just because one of my wholesale suppliers has one and I have seen the cuts they can make. although the dynatoch does make smoother cuts and I believe it to be because it has servo motors and not steppers but dont quote me on that.

Yeah I called them today, and they said they sold a 4x4 table. do you know what type of controller or software they use?

Quote Originally Posted by Metal-Mass View Post
    Yeah I called them today, and they said they sold a 4x4 table. do you know what type of controller or software they use?
    Their own operating system, works on Windows based PC CAD, CAM software is WE-CIM by Whitlock Engineering & others..